Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I made this cake 3 times in one week, I didn't have any nutmeg so I decided to try adding a tsp. of ginger, it was real good, everyone loved it. Yesterday I made the pear cake again but this time using nutmeg,it was good but everyone liked the first ones better (made with the ginger). The nutmeg gives it a more spicy taste, with the cloves & cinnamon it's already "spicy" and the ginger compliments instead of overpowering. I will use only ginger when I make this cake, and I will be making these often too. :) It's a wonderful, moist cake. I baked it for 60 minutes. Perfect! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA JEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this cake. I did halve the nutmeg and cloves because a lot of the reviewers recommended it and I was afraid I'd get a Spice Cake with some pears when what I wanted was a Pear Cake with some spices. I was pleased with the balance. Also, I think the 2 cups of sugar was fine, not too sweet and I used 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites(I hate trying to figure our what to do with 4 egg yolks!). One thing I want to caution other bakers about, is that I feel my oven heats to a reliable temperature and at 60 minutes I felt like this cake was perhaps 5 minutes overdone. Next time I will start checking it at 50 minutes even though some reviewers said that the hour and 10 minutes was not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe was sooooooooooooooo good, I did change the recipe a little, I added half wheat and half white flour and added apple sauce instead of the oil. I also added a half cup less sugar, and used ripe pears. I did'nt leave the pears in the sugar for an hour, only for the time it took me to get all ingredients together and then when asked for, put them in and I added walnuts instead of pecans. It took only an hour to bake!..perfecto!..it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
My family enjoyed this cake. After I sprayed my pan I coated it with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. I substituted ginger for the cloves and drizzled a powdered sugar, milk & vanilla glaze over the top. This cake would also be good with apples. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
What better way to use pears? I found the spices in this recipe to be perfect. Very flavorful and I would not change the amounts. This cake was very moist and the fact that it's "healthy" (well, compared to most cakes!) is a bonus. I wouldn't change one thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Tastes like a real home cooked country style cake. I used five pears, I diced 2 1/2 and grated 2 1/2. I also used butter in place of the oil. The cake was moist and flavourful - yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I made the cake exactly as listed, and the results were delicious. Moist, spicy, nice pear fruit cooked throughout. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Excellent! This is a great recipe to use for the pears that had spots cut out of them, since you will chop them anyway. I took eight cups of pear slices, then used a pastry blender to chop them up into smaller pieces, reducing the volume to four cups. I also added the spices to the pear mixture to allow the flavours to soak into the fruit while sitting. Finally, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour for a slightly more tender and finer-grained cake. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This cake was wonderful. I used ginger instead of nutmeg and cut the spices in half. I also used cake flour. While the pears sat for an hour with the sugar they were joined by 1 T. Myers's Dark Rum and 1 t. vanilla. People loved the cake and asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for a delicious, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Good but next time I will reduce the amt of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Even though they are my signature spices, they overpowered the overall flavor of the cake/pears. Spices are to enhance tastes! Still, good and I am sure we will all love this the next time I make it...with the reductions suggested! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States