Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I made this cake 3 times in one week, I didn't have any nutmeg so I decided to try adding a tsp. of ginger, it was real good, everyone loved it. Yesterday I made the pear cake again but this time using nutmeg,it was good but everyone liked the first ones better (made with the ginger). The nutmeg gives it a more spicy taste, with the cloves & cinnamon it's already "spicy" and the ginger compliments instead of overpowering. I will use only ginger when I make this cake, and I will be making these often too. :) It's a wonderful, moist cake. I baked it for 60 minutes. Perfect! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA JEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this cake. I did halve the nutmeg and cloves because a lot of the reviewers recommended it and I was afraid I'd get a Spice Cake with some pears when what I wanted was a Pear Cake with some spices. I was pleased with the balance. Also, I think the 2 cups of sugar was fine, not too sweet and I used 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites(I hate trying to figure our what to do with 4 egg yolks!). One thing I want to caution other bakers about, is that I feel my oven heats to a reliable temperature and at 60 minutes I felt like this cake was perhaps 5 minutes overdone. Next time I will start checking it at 50 minutes even though some reviewers said that the hour and 10 minutes was not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe was sooooooooooooooo good, I did change the recipe a little, I added half wheat and half white flour and added apple sauce instead of the oil. I also added a half cup less sugar, and used ripe pears. I did'nt leave the pears in the sugar for an hour, only for the time it took me to get all ingredients together and then when asked for, put them in and I added walnuts instead of pecans. It took only an hour to bake!..perfecto!..it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
My family enjoyed this cake. After I sprayed my pan I coated it with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. I substituted ginger for the cloves and drizzled a powdered sugar, milk & vanilla glaze over the top. This cake would also be good with apples. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
What better way to use pears? I found the spices in this recipe to be perfect. Very flavorful and I would not change the amounts. This cake was very moist and the fact that it's "healthy" (well, compared to most cakes!) is a bonus. I wouldn't change one thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Tastes like a real home cooked country style cake. I used five pears, I diced 2 1/2 and grated 2 1/2. I also used butter in place of the oil. The cake was moist and flavourful - yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I made the cake exactly as listed, and the results were delicious. Moist, spicy, nice pear fruit cooked throughout. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Excellent! This is a great recipe to use for the pears that had spots cut out of them, since you will chop them anyway. I took eight cups of pear slices, then used a pastry blender to chop them up into smaller pieces, reducing the volume to four cups. I also added the spices to the pear mixture to allow the flavours to soak into the fruit while sitting. Finally, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour for a slightly more tender and finer-grained cake. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This cake was wonderful. I used ginger instead of nutmeg and cut the spices in half. I also used cake flour. While the pears sat for an hour with the sugar they were joined by 1 T. Myers's Dark Rum and 1 t. vanilla. People loved the cake and asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for a delicious, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Good but next time I will reduce the amt of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Even though they are my signature spices, they overpowered the overall flavor of the cake/pears. Spices are to enhance tastes! Still, good and I am sure we will all love this the next time I make it...with the reductions suggested! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States