Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy! I used fresh pears, skipped the cloves, used 2/3 cup of apple sauce instead of canola oil, and walnuts instead of pecans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
A delicious way to use up some pears I had sitting around! Very good. After reading the reviews I substituted the nutmeg for ginger and beat the eggs until they were white and starting to gain a little volume. Otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I loved this cake! I used slivered almonds for the nuts as that's what I had on hand. Also, I was out of ground cloves, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice. The cake was fabulous! It was really light and yummy. One other note - the recipe says to beat the egg whites a little. I made this cake twice, and my suggestion is to beat the egg whites until they are about double their size and still foamy. That's how I did the 2nd cake and it turned out better. Also, I used self-rising flour. Everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I'm giving this four stars because I found the batter to be way too thick. It was more like cookie dough. That being said, I added about 1/2 cup milk, which did the trick. The cake baked beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Like another reviewer, I, too, cut the sugar in half to 1 cup because I had very ripe pears. It still turned out perfectly sweet and delicious. Didn't have pecans, but that was fine. As a busy mom, I also didn't take the time to peel the pears. The skin shrivels up when it bakes anyway, and no one, especially my 5 and 3-year-old, noticed or cared. It's really loaded with pears in every bite and is light and moist. Very delicious. Don't know why the recipe would call for 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was tasty and moist. It's more like a bread than a cake to me. I kept it in the refrigerator so that it would stay fresher longer. I didn't have any cloves in the house, so I used a teaspoon of ginger instead. It was a great way to use my leftover pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was awesome! We had fresh pears from our pear trees, but I could see using pears or apples as well. I loved the spice cake feel of it. We ate it for dessert with ice cream, and for breakfast with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have been meaning to review this recipe for awhile. This is my family's absolute favorite dessert! I did follow some advice from other reviewers and halved the spices. I have won two contests with this cake, and someone is always asking for the recipe. I like to add a powdered sugar glaze to the top. This cake is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melburrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
As is, it was too sweet for me, and i also thought it was still too high in fat. By changing the flour to whole wheat flour, cutting the sugar in half, cutting the oil in half and adding 1/3 cup of milk it turned out to be a 5 star recipe, and it stayed moist for days (which never seems to happen when I bake a cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A fail proof recipe and another fantastic way to use the hundreds of pears that have fallen in the back yard! I noticed that those who did have good luck making this, did not follow the instructions. You must follow the recipe! The only addition I made was a streusel topping and a vanilla drizzle for the top. (I have a wicked sweet tooth!) My boyfriend took it to work and everyone when crazy for it. His words: "Even the skinny girls came back for seconds!" haha The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States