Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The texture is terrible. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bachert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wonderful and moist cake. Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a wonderfully moist cake with a lot of flavor. Great for using up over ripe pears. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent recipe. I changed a few things like opting to ad ginger with only a wee bit of nutmeg since cloves and cinnamon are strong flavours already. I also added a small bit of grated orange peel. Overall I reduced ingredients by half since I wanted a small cake and went small on sugar too adding some honey to compensate. Turned out rather nice. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I followed the instructions exactly since it was my first time making it (usually I make the adjustments 2nd time around or so) and after 1h 10m the cake still hadn't cooked thoroughly. :( Major disappointment. Unfortunately I let it sit 10min and dumped it out of the pan onto a rack and part of the side caved in. I dumped it back into my pyrex dish and am going to try and cook it all the way through since the little part that was cooked the first time around tasted pretty good-just won't make for such a great presentation. Maybe I'll try the whole eggs next time to see if they help cook/stick it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake is indeed delicious. I have given it 4 stars because it is better with ginger substituted for the nutmeg and because it is more of a loaf or dense coffee cake (due to very thick batter). It is not a traditional dessert type cake, but very delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, while the taste is good the cake itself is pretty dry. I'm not sure why everyone else's turned out moist but mine is dry as can be? I definately think it's worth trying again with a bit of tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was a tasty moist cake. I did not have enough pears so I substituted 1 cup of soft apples and it came out great. Tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy! I used fresh pears, skipped the cloves, used 2/3 cup of apple sauce instead of canola oil, and walnuts instead of pecans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
A delicious way to use up some pears I had sitting around! Very good. After reading the reviews I substituted the nutmeg for ginger and beat the eggs until they were white and starting to gain a little volume. Otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States