Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great recipe I had to use ginger because I did not have nutmeg and I used a heaping tsp on cinnamon. Great cake. It gets sweeter when it sits over night. For me the spices were not to strong but I like spice cake. Great way to use up all the pears at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Definitely a keeper. To healthify it more, I reduced the sugar to less than 1/2c because I was using very ripe pears. I think 2c would have been way too sweet. I don't like separating eggs, so I used 2 whole eggs. I also pureed some of the pears and substituted pear puree for the oil. Added 1 tsp of ginger and decreased nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. Love, love, love this cake. Very moist. I've made 4 cakes in the last 2 days and everyone who has tried it likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The texture is terrible. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wonderful and moist cake. Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a wonderfully moist cake with a lot of flavor. Great for using up over ripe pears. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent recipe. I changed a few things like opting to ad ginger with only a wee bit of nutmeg since cloves and cinnamon are strong flavours already. I also added a small bit of grated orange peel. Overall I reduced ingredients by half since I wanted a small cake and went small on sugar too adding some honey to compensate. Turned out rather nice. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I followed the instructions exactly since it was my first time making it (usually I make the adjustments 2nd time around or so) and after 1h 10m the cake still hadn't cooked thoroughly. :( Major disappointment. Unfortunately I let it sit 10min and dumped it out of the pan onto a rack and part of the side caved in. I dumped it back into my pyrex dish and am going to try and cook it all the way through since the little part that was cooked the first time around tasted pretty good-just won't make for such a great presentation. Maybe I'll try the whole eggs next time to see if they help cook/stick it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake is indeed delicious. I have given it 4 stars because it is better with ginger substituted for the nutmeg and because it is more of a loaf or dense coffee cake (due to very thick batter). It is not a traditional dessert type cake, but very delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, while the taste is good the cake itself is pretty dry. I'm not sure why everyone else's turned out moist but mine is dry as can be? I definately think it's worth trying again with a bit of tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was a tasty moist cake. I did not have enough pears so I substituted 1 cup of soft apples and it came out great. Tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States