Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this cake for my Dad's birthday and while everyone else really liked it, I thought it was ok. Thought the sugar could be dramatically cut back. Cake needed an extra 8-10 minutes in the oven. Possibly a bit less nutmeg also. That being said, it was enjoyed by all and many had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used about 5 pears from my backyard pear tree. Took this cake to work. Everyone loved it. Left recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
More of a bread then a cake. Dense, full of pears, and delish. I cut the sugar in half, added an extra cup of walnuts (net time will increase even more), added flax & wheat germ, and used 1 cup of whole grain wheat flour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummo!!! My husband and I both loved this cake! such a great way to use up pears from the tree. The only alteration I made was with the spices. I used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon only because that's what I had on hand. I also found it had to bake for 1 hour 15 mins in my oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Was just ok for us. Nothing wrong, but not worth the calories. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a grate recipe, easy to make and absolutley deliscious!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbejjani1255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: North Lawrence, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I followed some advice of others and halfed the spices, added ginger, allowed the spices to sit with the sugar and pears for the hour and then used two eggs instead of 4 whites and baked it a little under time - it came out perfectly moist, evenly spiced with wonderful pear flavor! just what an early fall evening ordered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great recipe I had to use ginger because I did not have nutmeg and I used a heaping tsp on cinnamon. Great cake. It gets sweeter when it sits over night. For me the spices were not to strong but I like spice cake. Great way to use up all the pears at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Definitely a keeper. To healthify it more, I reduced the sugar to less than 1/2c because I was using very ripe pears. I think 2c would have been way too sweet. I don't like separating eggs, so I used 2 whole eggs. I also pureed some of the pears and substituted pear puree for the oil. Added 1 tsp of ginger and decreased nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. Love, love, love this cake. Very moist. I've made 4 cakes in the last 2 days and everyone who has tried it likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The texture is terrible. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States