Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice recipe, the taste of pears in the cake is delicious. I halved the spices and they were still too much, will use a quarter next time. The sugar is way too much as well - even just one cup of sugar was too much for my taste. Next time will try with half a cup. Everything else worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! I followed some of the reviewers suggestions to change the spices a bit. I did the following: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I did 1 1/3 cup white sugar and 2/3 cup brown sugar.I also let the pears sit for about 1 1/2 hours and all the juices came out which made for an extremely moist cake! I also finished the cake off with a powdered sugar glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar and couple Tablespoons milk, until you have a good consistency. I put it in a bottle and drizzled on top. You can also get messy (fun for kids!) and dip your fingers in and drizzle it over the top. Superb cake and now a favorite for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This cake had great pear flavor and is quite filing. This is a good cake to eat fresh - it doesn't hold up long. After a couple of days the spices became overpowering and it became spice cake with no pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this cake for my Dad's birthday and while everyone else really liked it, I thought it was ok. Thought the sugar could be dramatically cut back. Cake needed an extra 8-10 minutes in the oven. Possibly a bit less nutmeg also. That being said, it was enjoyed by all and many had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used about 5 pears from my backyard pear tree. Took this cake to work. Everyone loved it. Left recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
More of a bread then a cake. Dense, full of pears, and delish. I cut the sugar in half, added an extra cup of walnuts (net time will increase even more), added flax & wheat germ, and used 1 cup of whole grain wheat flour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummo!!! My husband and I both loved this cake! such a great way to use up pears from the tree. The only alteration I made was with the spices. I used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon only because that's what I had on hand. I also found it had to bake for 1 hour 15 mins in my oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Was just ok for us. Nothing wrong, but not worth the calories. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a grate recipe, easy to make and absolutley deliscious!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbejjani1255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: North Lawrence, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I followed some advice of others and halfed the spices, added ginger, allowed the spices to sit with the sugar and pears for the hour and then used two eggs instead of 4 whites and baked it a little under time - it came out perfectly moist, evenly spiced with wonderful pear flavor! just what an early fall evening ordered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States