Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this recipe. It also works great with apples. The only change I make is to reduce the sugar and throw in some ground flax. I find it's way too sweet with the intended amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Torbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice recipe, the taste of pears in the cake is delicious. I halved the spices and they were still too much, will use a quarter next time. The sugar is way too much as well - even just one cup of sugar was too much for my taste. Next time will try with half a cup. Everything else worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! I followed some of the reviewers suggestions to change the spices a bit. I did the following: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I did 1 1/3 cup white sugar and 2/3 cup brown sugar.I also let the pears sit for about 1 1/2 hours and all the juices came out which made for an extremely moist cake! I also finished the cake off with a powdered sugar glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar and couple Tablespoons milk, until you have a good consistency. I put it in a bottle and drizzled on top. You can also get messy (fun for kids!) and dip your fingers in and drizzle it over the top. Superb cake and now a favorite for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This cake had great pear flavor and is quite filing. This is a good cake to eat fresh - it doesn't hold up long. After a couple of days the spices became overpowering and it became spice cake with no pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this cake for my Dad's birthday and while everyone else really liked it, I thought it was ok. Thought the sugar could be dramatically cut back. Cake needed an extra 8-10 minutes in the oven. Possibly a bit less nutmeg also. That being said, it was enjoyed by all and many had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used about 5 pears from my backyard pear tree. Took this cake to work. Everyone loved it. Left recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
More of a bread then a cake. Dense, full of pears, and delish. I cut the sugar in half, added an extra cup of walnuts (net time will increase even more), added flax & wheat germ, and used 1 cup of whole grain wheat flour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummo!!! My husband and I both loved this cake! such a great way to use up pears from the tree. The only alteration I made was with the spices. I used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon only because that's what I had on hand. I also found it had to bake for 1 hour 15 mins in my oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Was just ok for us. Nothing wrong, but not worth the calories. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a grate recipe, easy to make and absolutley deliscious!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbejjani1255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: North Lawrence, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States