Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Added some apple because I didnt have enough pear.Tasted great.A very moist,filling cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good. I used three cans of pears as fresh are not in season right now. I drained them for about 20 mintes. As others suggested I cut the sugar to 1 1.2 cups and cut the spices in 1/2, which I was glad I did, as they added just enough flavor without overpowering it. I left out the pecans as I am not a "nut" person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Awesome!! I used 4 pears, chopped. 1/3 c applesauce + 1/3 c canola oil instead of all oil. I didn't have ground cloves, so I substituted ginger. And I used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I only had a handful of walnuts, so I threw them in...hubby doesn't care for nuts, so that was a good compromise anyway. This cake is absolutely fantastic! I just finished a piece and I could go for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I made the cake exactly as listed, and the results were delicious. Moist, spicy, nice pear fruit cooked throughout. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious cake recipe! I didn't have access to fresh pears, so I used canned. Once the cake was cooled, I make a frosting out of powdered sugar, the leftover pear juice, and some orange juice. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
wow, this one of the best cakes i have ever made... did not have canola oil so used olive oil.... this is staying in my permanent recipe box..... I would give this cake a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this recipe. It also works great with apples. The only change I make is to reduce the sugar and throw in some ground flax. I find it's way too sweet with the intended amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Torbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice recipe, the taste of pears in the cake is delicious. I halved the spices and they were still too much, will use a quarter next time. The sugar is way too much as well - even just one cup of sugar was too much for my taste. Next time will try with half a cup. Everything else worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! I followed some of the reviewers suggestions to change the spices a bit. I did the following: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I did 1 1/3 cup white sugar and 2/3 cup brown sugar.I also let the pears sit for about 1 1/2 hours and all the juices came out which made for an extremely moist cake! I also finished the cake off with a powdered sugar glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar and couple Tablespoons milk, until you have a good consistency. I put it in a bottle and drizzled on top. You can also get messy (fun for kids!) and dip your fingers in and drizzle it over the top. Superb cake and now a favorite for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States