Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made a few changes to this, added 1 cup raisuns instead of nuts, a little extra cinnamon by request of my daughter. and I let the pears sit in the sugar and spices. I also added some madagascar vanilla. It turned out delicious and very moist, but still cakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I used pears from my pear tree. Most years it didn't put out much. This year, it woke up and gave us many. This recipe is so very good. I added applesauce in place of part of the oil. I used 1.5c. splenda and 1/4c. sugar and 1/8c. of splenda brown sugar blend. 1/2 wheat flour, and 1/2 all purpose flour. It turned out VERY good. I'm going to make this again. I put a little glaze over the top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Wonderful! I was short on flour so used half whole wheat and it was great! This will definitely be a regular with us when our pear tree is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This cake was moist, flavorful and not too sweet. The only change I made to the recipe was adding 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of 1 tsp, and 1/2 tsp ginger. It probably should have baked a little longer but it still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Good recipe to start with! I did tweak it a lot, and thought someone else might want to know what worked for me to make a healthy substitute breakfast muffin - halved the sugar, used all white whole-wheat flour, used two whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites, didnt use cloves but halved the nutmeg and added 1/2 teaspoon ginger, only used 1/4 cup oil (coconut), but also added half cup applesauce and one large ripe mashed banana to make up for the decrease in oil and sugar. Finally, added half a cup of greek yogurt (to make it kind of a 'sour cream' cake). I baked into muffins for about 18-20 minutes at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This didn't turn out for me. Very dense, moist, NOT in a good way. This could have been because my pears were very ripe, mushy & created a lot of juice while sitting with the sugar. Perhaps it is better with firm fruit. I'm surprised other reviewers chose to use less spice because I felt it could have used some more to perk up the flavor. I'd suggest a bit of salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe to play with!!! Added 1/4 teaspoon each of cardamom and ginger and just a touch of vanilla extract. Also went 2/3 pecans 1/3 walnuts. CAUTION: All pears are NOT created equal so beware of reviews advising you to cut back on the sugar unless you've already tried this and know from experience. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this last night for family night. My son, who is not a fruit lover gobbled his piece and asked for more! I reduced the sugar by a cup but added an additional cup of pears and the result was just delicious. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was a hit with everyone in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Most awesome cake! Made this with some overripe pears I had, used 5 pears. I was a little worried that the batter was VERY stiff, almost dry...but I resisted the urge to add more liquid and stuck to the recipe as posted. It turned out perfectly moist and delicious. I only let the pears sit in the sugar for the time it took me to assemble the other ingredients, perhaps that is why it semed dry, but it still resulted in a perfect cake. I had to increase the cooking time by 10 minutes for the knife to come out clean from a bundt pan. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States