Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This cake is awesome and great for breakfast or anytime of the day. My mother love the cake and that says a lot. I will be making two more this week while there is still pears on the tree for the holidays and freeze them. This cake is so easy to make. I use only a half teaspoon of ground clove instead of the 1 teaspoon and it was just right. will let you know how the freezing go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was great! I read reviews, took some suggestions, and made scrumptious cupcakes that I shared with a group, my kids, and my extended family - and they all loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent cake. Had plenty of fresh pears from my neighbor :). I used about 1/2 cup less of sugar and I'm glad I did. Still plenty sweet. Will definitely make this again. Spices are right on the mark.PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this for a family gathering tonight and got rave reviews. Cut the spices slightly, added some ginger, and cut the sugar by 1/2 c. I also added a vanilla glaze from this site. Perfect. Served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is such a good recipe - family loves it! I use only 1 cup rather than 2 of sugar and whole wheat instead of white flour, 1/3 c oil and 1/3 cup applesauce instead of 2/3c oil. Don't have a bundt pan (I have no idea why, My Big Fat Greek Wedding is one of my fave movies ever!) so use 2 loaf pans and reduce cooking time to 1 hr. House smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was great! Very moist and spices were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good - my pears were overripe and squishy (Bartlett) and so the chunks in the cake were a little unappealing. My kids said they looked like pieces of jellyfish, so it was not a big hit with them. Tasted fine though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I collected 10 pears in my last couple of CSA boxes so I decided that it was cake time! I used 6 whole pears to get a little over 4 cups of chopped pears. My changes to the recipe are: 1) I used only 1 cup of brown sugar. 2) I didn't bother to sift the flour and used cake flour instead. 3) I used olive oil instead of canola oil. 4) I only used a pinch of nutmeg and cloves. 5) I used a 9 X 11 Pyrex dish to bake and it took 50 mins total. Super yummy and super easy. This cake is rather dense so it took a little bit of muscle to pour the stiff batter into the Pyrex dish. Also, it did not rise much after baking. Very filling cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I halved the recipe and baked it for 1 hour in a loaf pan, since there were only 2 of us. I also used white whole wheat flour, only used half the amount of nutmeg, and added 1/4 tsp (1/2 tsp if you were making the whole recipe) of ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
The cake itself was good and definitely suited my needs since I had a dozen pears that needed to be used up. Unfortunately, I just wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States