Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I halved the recipe and baked it for 1 hour in a loaf pan, since there were only 2 of us. I also used white whole wheat flour, only used half the amount of nutmeg, and added 1/4 tsp (1/2 tsp if you were making the whole recipe) of ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
The cake itself was good and definitely suited my needs since I had a dozen pears that needed to be used up. Unfortunately, I just wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made one change which I don't think matters. I don't like having left over egg yolks, so I bought the egg whites in a carton. Used amount specified for 4 eggs which meant my batter was probably a bit more moist than had I used just egg whites. The only result was to cook for an additional 10 minutes. It was HEAVENLY and a BIG hit at our local Grange pot luck last night. I did not halve the spices and it's what we all liked best about it. It had real PUNCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made a few changes to this, added 1 cup raisuns instead of nuts, a little extra cinnamon by request of my daughter. and I let the pears sit in the sugar and spices. I also added some madagascar vanilla. It turned out delicious and very moist, but still cakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I used pears from my pear tree. Most years it didn't put out much. This year, it woke up and gave us many. This recipe is so very good. I added applesauce in place of part of the oil. I used 1.5c. splenda and 1/4c. sugar and 1/8c. of splenda brown sugar blend. 1/2 wheat flour, and 1/2 all purpose flour. It turned out VERY good. I'm going to make this again. I put a little glaze over the top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Wonderful! I was short on flour so used half whole wheat and it was great! This will definitely be a regular with us when our pear tree is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This cake was moist, flavorful and not too sweet. The only change I made to the recipe was adding 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of 1 tsp, and 1/2 tsp ginger. It probably should have baked a little longer but it still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Good recipe to start with! I did tweak it a lot, and thought someone else might want to know what worked for me to make a healthy substitute breakfast muffin - halved the sugar, used all white whole-wheat flour, used two whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites, didnt use cloves but halved the nutmeg and added 1/2 teaspoon ginger, only used 1/4 cup oil (coconut), but also added half cup applesauce and one large ripe mashed banana to make up for the decrease in oil and sugar. Finally, added half a cup of greek yogurt (to make it kind of a 'sour cream' cake). I baked into muffins for about 18-20 minutes at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This didn't turn out for me. Very dense, moist, NOT in a good way. This could have been because my pears were very ripe, mushy & created a lot of juice while sitting with the sugar. Perhaps it is better with firm fruit. I'm surprised other reviewers chose to use less spice because I felt it could have used some more to perk up the flavor. I'd suggest a bit of salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe to play with!!! Added 1/4 teaspoon each of cardamom and ginger and just a touch of vanilla extract. Also went 2/3 pecans 1/3 walnuts. CAUTION: All pears are NOT created equal so beware of reviews advising you to cut back on the sugar unless you've already tried this and know from experience. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States