Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was great! I read reviews, took some suggestions, and made scrumptious cupcakes that I shared with a group, my kids, and my extended family - and they all loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent cake. Had plenty of fresh pears from my neighbor :). I used about 1/2 cup less of sugar and I'm glad I did. Still plenty sweet. Will definitely make this again. Spices are right on the mark.PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this for a family gathering tonight and got rave reviews. Cut the spices slightly, added some ginger, and cut the sugar by 1/2 c. I also added a vanilla glaze from this site. Perfect. Served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is such a good recipe - family loves it! I use only 1 cup rather than 2 of sugar and whole wheat instead of white flour, 1/3 c oil and 1/3 cup applesauce instead of 2/3c oil. Don't have a bundt pan (I have no idea why, My Big Fat Greek Wedding is one of my fave movies ever!) so use 2 loaf pans and reduce cooking time to 1 hr. House smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was great! Very moist and spices were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good - my pears were overripe and squishy (Bartlett) and so the chunks in the cake were a little unappealing. My kids said they looked like pieces of jellyfish, so it was not a big hit with them. Tasted fine though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I collected 10 pears in my last couple of CSA boxes so I decided that it was cake time! I used 6 whole pears to get a little over 4 cups of chopped pears. My changes to the recipe are: 1) I used only 1 cup of brown sugar. 2) I didn't bother to sift the flour and used cake flour instead. 3) I used olive oil instead of canola oil. 4) I only used a pinch of nutmeg and cloves. 5) I used a 9 X 11 Pyrex dish to bake and it took 50 mins total. Super yummy and super easy. This cake is rather dense so it took a little bit of muscle to pour the stiff batter into the Pyrex dish. Also, it did not rise much after baking. Very filling cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I halved the recipe and baked it for 1 hour in a loaf pan, since there were only 2 of us. I also used white whole wheat flour, only used half the amount of nutmeg, and added 1/4 tsp (1/2 tsp if you were making the whole recipe) of ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
The cake itself was good and definitely suited my needs since I had a dozen pears that needed to be used up. Unfortunately, I just wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made one change which I don't think matters. I don't like having left over egg yolks, so I bought the egg whites in a carton. Used amount specified for 4 eggs which meant my batter was probably a bit more moist than had I used just egg whites. The only result was to cook for an additional 10 minutes. It was HEAVENLY and a BIG hit at our local Grange pot luck last night. I did not halve the spices and it's what we all liked best about it. It had real PUNCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States