Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Tried this with different Pears, comes out great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a great way to use the pears I got in a co-op. The cake got rave reviews from all and was great served hot or room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very moist, a nice combination of spices and easy to put together. I froze half as an extra Thanksgiving dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This cake was lovely made with some pears that were almost over ripe. Served with a small amount of whipped cream on each slice. Can't wait to try it toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wow, this came out so moist and flavorful. I used coconut oil instead of the canola, and I only used 1.5 cup sugar. I added a generous tsp of vanilla though. it only took 55 minutes to bake. I will certainly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth fuentes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I recently received 30 small pears from a friend who has pear trees. This was the perfect recipe. I added dried cranberries to my cakes. It was delicious! It is very moist. I don't have a bundt pan so I used a 10 inch spring form pan, it took under an hour in the convection oven. Thanks for the recipe update: it freezes well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFRANI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I took other reviewer's advice and cut the sugar in half, which worked out to be the perfect level of sweetness for me. I also substituted half of the oil with pureed pear. The spices were perfect as is. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 8" square pan for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I made two cakes, one in a bundt cake pan and one in cheesecake pan. The one in cheesecake pan took a lot longer to bake but I arranged pear slices on the bottom of the pan and it came out very pretty. This was definitely one of the best and easiest cake I've baked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this cake for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. I used less spices like others suggested and the pear flavor was very prevalent. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/3 cup canola oil and it turned out great. It was easy to make and very tasty. The reason I'm only giving it 4 stars is because it was way too sweet. I used ripe, sweet pears and 2 cups of sugar proved to be way too much. I would recommend using 1 1/2 or 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 if you don't want it to be extremely sweet. Otherwise, a wonderful recipe. I would love to make this again (with less sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I got rave reviews on this from my guests! It was still moist when served the next day and had great flavour. the spice level was perfect and made it better than the average cake. I made the following changes: only used 1 cup sugar ( it was plenty sweet, esp with ice cream and salted caramel sauce from this website). I also subbed ginger for the nutmeg, used 2 whole eggs instead of egg white, and subbed half the oil for applesauce. Next time I will try grating the pear, but I didn't mind the chunks either. A very versatile recipe! I think I will go have another piece now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States