Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
I'm not sure about the kids, but the adults I made it for love it! I've passed out the recipe several times already. Its not too sweet and it is soooo moist, which I think is the best part. I skip the pecans, and it is still good. Once you peel the pears, its all downhill from there. Basically dump everything in and cook. I'd say it only took 45 minutes-1 hour including cleanup beginning to end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
YUMMY!!! This cake is so good, very moist and doesn't have a "grainy" pear texture. I only had three bartlett pears and left out the nuts and it turned out fabulous. I glazed it with a little powdered sugar, milk & a splash of vanilla to dress it up. Even my friends who said "I don't like pears" loved it. Will definitely make it again ... soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
this recipe is excellent!!!!great for holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
A good cake. I used a mixture of apples and pears, since we have a ton of those this time of year, from our many trees. It's like a spice cake. It needed a longer baking time than the recipe asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
I scaled down this recipe for 4 servings, and made 7 muffins out of it. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
I made this cake for some of my best friends the day it came up on the internet. They all wanted the receipe. Everyone was so complementary, especially, my neighbor. She is allergic to all dairy products. I finally found something sweet she can have. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
great recipe, really moist and delicious. am sharing with all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
This cake is so moist, not too sweet and yet flavorful. I'm thinking of trying it with pears and apples next time. I made the cake last night and it's more than half gone already so I guess that will be soon. It's an incredibly easy recipe once the fruit is prepared. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
My kids didn't like it, but who cares all the more for me:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
To take advantage of our abundant pear harvest this year, I decided to try this recipe. My 6 year old son helped bake it and we made a nut-free muffins version for him, too. It was moist & delicious. Much like apple cake, only better. This one is getting added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States