Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have been meaning to review this recipe for awhile. This is my family's absolute favorite dessert! I did follow some advice from other reviewers and halved the spices. I have won two contests with this cake, and someone is always asking for the recipe. I like to add a powdered sugar glaze to the top. This cake is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melburrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
As is, it was too sweet for me, and i also thought it was still too high in fat. By changing the flour to whole wheat flour, cutting the sugar in half, cutting the oil in half and adding 1/3 cup of milk it turned out to be a 5 star recipe, and it stayed moist for days (which never seems to happen when I bake a cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A fail proof recipe and another fantastic way to use the hundreds of pears that have fallen in the back yard! I noticed that those who did have good luck making this, did not follow the instructions. You must follow the recipe! The only addition I made was a streusel topping and a vanilla drizzle for the top. (I have a wicked sweet tooth!) My boyfriend took it to work and everyone when crazy for it. His words: "Even the skinny girls came back for seconds!" haha The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gigimaus
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
a very delicious and moist cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dresden, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
used two eggs instead of just egg whites. Did the ginger thing. Awesome cake, it vanished!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used fresh pears from our orchard, ginger instead of nutmeg (as recommended) and 1/2 of the recommended cinnamon. I'm at 6000 ft, so I baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. It still tasted like spice cake with pears, but it was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So delicious! Had some pears that no one was eating so thought try this out. My picky children devoured them! I did half the cloves & nutmeg as recommended by others. Also, not a fan of bundts so used mini muffins. Made 48 plus a small loaf. Freezing some for school lunches & snacks. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was delish! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I didn't have pecans, so I used hazlenuts. I thought the spice level was PERFECT - not too subtle, but not overpowering. I also baked it for exactly and hour and 10 minutes and it came out perfect. My house smelled so good when this was baking! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My in-laws gave me a whole sack of pears so I started looking for recipes to use them up. This is the first recipe I've tried and we loved it. This is a great holiday cake. I'm going to make a couple more and freeze them for later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 eggs instead of egg whites also and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States