Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this last night for family night. My son, who is not a fruit lover gobbled his piece and asked for more! I reduced the sugar by a cup but added an additional cup of pears and the result was just delicious. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was a hit with everyone in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Most awesome cake! Made this with some overripe pears I had, used 5 pears. I was a little worried that the batter was VERY stiff, almost dry...but I resisted the urge to add more liquid and stuck to the recipe as posted. It turned out perfectly moist and delicious. I only let the pears sit in the sugar for the time it took me to assemble the other ingredients, perhaps that is why it semed dry, but it still resulted in a perfect cake. I had to increase the cooking time by 10 minutes for the knife to come out clean from a bundt pan. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This turned out very nicely. I baked it in 2 loaf pans instead of a bundt pan, just had to reduce the cooking time a little. Makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I don't normally change recipes ..but pears are my favorite fruit so I had to soup up this recipe a bit. I used two whole eggs and two whites, half white sugar half brown..no clove added ginger and cardamon and maple extract. Added yellow raisins instead of nuts. Made big bakery style muffins w/crumb topping and cream cheese drizzle! To die for!I got 18 muffins with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very moist and flavorful. I did add fresh grated ginger since I had some in the fridge and a drizzle of vanilla glaze. Everyone loved it! Most people did think that it was an apple cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made a few tweaks to the recipe: Used 1/2 c. brown sugar (as per another baker's comment), and only 1 1/3 c. white sugar. Decreased cloves by 1/2 (again, per comment). I substituted 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. of the oil (so only used about 1/4 c. oil). I used 1. cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups regular flour. The cake turned out wonderfully- a spice cake with pear undertones, moist but not mushy. I'd make again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ealistello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good. I followed the recipe as written but omitted the cloves because I didn't have any. My non-sweet loving husband even liked. Could sub apples and possibly zucchini. Will definitely make again in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadaFun
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very tasty! Easy to make. I altered the recipe slightly based upon previous reviews, and what I had on hand. I left the peel on the pears to enhance the pear flavor, and also because I'm somewhat lazy. Used 1 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup brown sugar, used 1/3 cup melted butter and 1/3 cup canola oil. For spices I use nearly 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon cloves, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Raw batter tasted somewhat overpowered by the cloves, but after baking, the balance of spices was perfect! I sprayed the cake pan with cooking spray and sprinkled inside with a combo of powdered sugar and cinnamon. Monitor the baking time; at about 45 minutes I kept adding 5 minutes, 5 minutes more, etc. until done. Even after passing the toothpick test, the cake was still a little 'wet' around the pear pieces. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Just making this cake for the second time! YUMM! Used soy oil insted of canola and almonds insted of pecans. Still delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States