Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was delicious! Everyone who tried it really liked it as well. I have never heard of a pear cake before so I had to try it. I didn't have cloves but based on other reviews I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and ground ginger and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also put maybe another tsp of freshly grated ginger in with the wet ingredients. Baking time was spot on. I also did a sugar "crust" to give it a crispy crunch which I do with most quick breads. Just put enough granulated sugar to coat the pan after greasing. Sometimes I do cinnamon sugar but didn't think that would work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've been making this cake regularly as it's a hit in our house. It even adapts to gluten free (all purpose and oat) flours very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was looking for a non-dairy dessert and I've found a winner in this one! After reading reviews I made some changes - halved the spices and substituted ginger for the nutmeg, didn't peel the pears, used 1 c. white and 1/2 c. brown sugar, pureed 1/2 of a ripe pear and used it to replace 1/2 of the oil, used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I also skipped the nuts because a dinner guest is allergic. The resulting cake was loved by all. It was very moist and delicious. My baking time turned out to be about 55 minutes. This will very likely become a staple in my dessert repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this with a few of the suggestions...I used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites and I used ginger instead of nutmeg because I didn't have any. My family loved this. I also sprinkled cinnamon/sugar in the bundt pan & when I flipped it some stuck. I waited the 10 minutes before flipping but might try longer next time? Delicious & a great way to use up some pears that would have otherwise gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made this last night with some pears that I had that were going bad. I subbed out the nuts and added some frozen cranberries as we have a nut allergy in the house. I made it into mini loaves so that I could hand them out and it was delicious. I would like to try the advice of another to remove the nutmeg, use ginger and then add in crystalized ginger chuncks....that I think would be amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for someone else and did not get a chance to taste it. I can only go on their review which was glowing! The gave it a 10 on a scale of 1-10. I'm just sorry I didn't get the chance to taste it myself, but that's how it goes when you give food as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Everyone loved it! I left the spices as is. I cut down the sugar to 1.5 cups and used coconut oil instead of canola. The second time I made it, it did stick in the pan - so just make sure to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alimcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh this was really delicious! I had a load of pears ripening quickly from apple and pear picking this month, what to do I thought! Well I made this cake, I was very simple, and delicious. I have to say I did not use cloves, but a spekulaas spice (Dutch spice mix) and cinnamon. It was sweet and I did not use any frosting or icing etc. Sweet enough with out it really. In fact I might cut the sugar a bit next time but over all it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! My children really enjoyed it (without nuts). This is great to serve for dessert or as muffins or sweet bread for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I had to make some slight changes to the recipe because I didn't have a couple of items but it still turned out great! Instead of a bundt pan I used a 9x13 pan and watched the clock after 50 minutes but it also seemed to finish around the one hour and ten minutes mark. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups of pears and 1/2 cup of apples because I ran out of pears. Like I said, it still turned out and I plan to make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States