Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used fresh pears from our orchard, ginger instead of nutmeg (as recommended) and 1/2 of the recommended cinnamon. I'm at 6000 ft, so I baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. It still tasted like spice cake with pears, but it was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So delicious! Had some pears that no one was eating so thought try this out. My picky children devoured them! I did half the cloves & nutmeg as recommended by others. Also, not a fan of bundts so used mini muffins. Made 48 plus a small loaf. Freezing some for school lunches & snacks. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was delish! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I didn't have pecans, so I used hazlenuts. I thought the spice level was PERFECT - not too subtle, but not overpowering. I also baked it for exactly and hour and 10 minutes and it came out perfect. My house smelled so good when this was baking! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My in-laws gave me a whole sack of pears so I started looking for recipes to use them up. This is the first recipe I've tried and we loved it. This is a great holiday cake. I'm going to make a couple more and freeze them for later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 eggs instead of egg whites also and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I read ALL the reviews before making and took a few things into account. I'm not known for being an excellent baker or cook but for the first time in my life, I received RAVE reviews from friends and coworkers on this! First, as for the spices, if you generally like spice cake, leave the amount of spices alone as it's perfect! I used 2 whole eggs and it was just fine. I also used half unbleached white flour and half wheat flour. I used half organic sugar and half brown sugar. I love vanilla so I added 1 tsp. Please DO let the sugar and pears sit for one hour as it lets them “sugar” and soften, especially if you are using slightly unripe pears. I've made this with both ripe and harder pears and both turned out great. As for preparing the pears, it was awkward cutting them as I have never done it before. I did not skin them, I just cut out the core. I found this easiest by first cutting the top part including the stem off, slice in half lengthwise, cut the bottom “flower” end out of each half, then cut both halves in half again. You now have 4 pieces, each with a part of the core. Simply run the knife down the spine starting at the smaller end working to the larger end. The core cuts out very quick and easy this way. I used a bunt pan and buttered and sugared it instead of flour, came out nicely with a slightly hardened sweet outside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Used some of our hundreds of pears from our trees to make this delicious recipe. It's a keeper for my file of pear recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The cake was nice. I followed the recipe exactly but no one was crazy for it. I was hoping for more pear flavor but felt the spices took center stage. The pears were from my brother-in-law's trees and they were really ripe when I used them for the cake. But I'm going to try another pear cake recipe before doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great! I would not change a thing, except maybe trying it with apples next time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle0255

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Great recipe! Used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, substituted ginger for nutmeg and used walnuts instead of pecan. Turned out fantastic, will definitely make again. Next time would like to try using less sugar and using applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States