Fresh Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I used 4 cups of fresh peaches (which are easy to peel by dipping in boiling water for about 20 seconds and then dipping in cold water). I substituted vanilla for almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
I thought it was delicious and not too hard or long to make. I already had all the ingredients at the house which made it easier too! One note about the directions...in step 2, after mixing the sugar, lemon, etc. Spread on top of peaches and put all in the oven while making the shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I wasn't too terribly impressed with this version of cobbler. Firstly, I felt it was to "eggy" tasting and secondly the juice from the peaches made it watery. I should have tossed the peaches with either flour or cornstarch before I placed them in the pan. As written, the topping seemed rather bland, so I added cinnamon for some extra flavor. Next time I'll leave out the egg and make more of a crumb topping and also use brown sugar along with the white. With a few adjustments this recipe has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This Peach Cobbler really is good. I did not have Lemon Zest and Almond Extract. Instead, I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1 tablespoon Vanilla to the dough. My family thought, it was sweet enough - and the taste of the Peaches was not hidden under Sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was great! The only thing I did differently was to add about a tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the shortbread batter. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I recommend adding this to your repertoire of recipes for desserts using fresh peaches! I doubled the ingredients in order to bake the cobbler in a 9x13 pyrex dish. I used my food processor to quickly mix the biscuit crust. So easy, so yummy. Be sure to have vanilla ice cream or whipped cream as a topping. Your family will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I used 4-5 cups peaches and only 2/3 c.sugar(1/3 c brown sugar;1/3 white) plus 1/2 t. vanilla. For topping sugar I added a sprinkling of nutmeg. This is very good warm with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Best I've ever made! Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon instead of almond ext.for the filling. Added 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and used buttermilk instead of milk. The topping was very thick had to put it on in large crumbs and smooth it over lightly. then added the sugar. It was GREAT. Next time want to double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
The filling was great. Tossed it with a little flour per previous suggestions. Also sprinkled extra sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon on topping but it just wasn't very good in general. Am trying to find some kind of streusel cobbler topping...none of the batter ones I've made have been very good. oh...used 8 fresh peaches and it made a big 9x13 pan..glad I didn't double the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a great receipe. I did use 4 to 5 cups of peaches. As well as added 1/2 of the peach juice into the shortening so the bread had more of a peach taste. The juice came from the juice in the pan afer the sugar melted in the oven. This is delicious and i make it ever year for many occassions such as thanksgiving, christmas, new years, and mothers day. My aunt and uncle love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States