Fresh Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband bought a lug of Colorado peaches especially so he could have peach cobbler. Putting the peaches in the oven while fixing the dough works well. I used a slightly larger Pyrex dish to bake in and used a little over 4 cups of peaches, but kept the rest of the ingredients. Instead of cutting the stortening into the dough, I grated (large hole side) 1/3 cup of frozen butter, which made it easier to mix. Also added a little nutmeg to the dough. Plenty of dough for the extra peaches. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Pretty good. I like the idea of heating up the peaches then putting the topping on. Otherwise, we liked this but didn't find it anything special. The peaches you use make this dish. We used beautiful yellow peaches we got at the farmer's market this weekend, and they are delicious. I think I may have used more peaches than called for--we had peeled several peaches for another use and didn't end up needing them, so I went searching and found this recipe. I definitely think it's worth doubling the peaches in this--like I said, the peaches make this dish so I'd suggest everyone go heavy on them. I cut out some of hte sugar and topped the batter with pumpkin pie spice instead of sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I agree with a previous reviewer, too much shortbread, not enough peaches. Also, I found when mixing the shortbread it was way too stiff, so I mixed in more milk. It was still way too stiff and the shortbread was dry and more biscuity than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
everyone loved this-easy to make didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a great receipe. I did use 4 to 5 cups of peaches. As well as added 1/2 of the peach juice into the shortening so the bread had more of a peach taste. The juice came from the juice in the pan afer the sugar melted in the oven. This is delicious and i make it ever year for many occassions such as thanksgiving, christmas, new years, and mothers day. My aunt and uncle love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Terrific! The only thing to watch for is when adding the liquid be careful to not add too much, just add enough to moisten the dough. I then placed clumps of the dough all over the peaches until the whole thing was eventually covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
It was good but not great. You need to eat it when it's hot or it's just too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
DELICIOUS!! I didn't have almond extract for the filling so I used vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Best I've ever made! Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon instead of almond ext.for the filling. Added 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and used buttermilk instead of milk. The topping was very thick had to put it on in large crumbs and smooth it over lightly. then added the sugar. It was GREAT. Next time want to double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
heating the fruit first really does make a big difference in the amount of liquid. I have made this twice and both times I didn't have a soupy mess. Versatile recipe - I added a few berries I had, some fresh ginger and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States