Fresh Peach Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Not sweet enough for my taste, but that is a matter of preference. If sweet is not your preference, then this is a great recipe. I doubled the batter and wished I hadn't because that was the least flavorful part of the recipe. It seemed to need vanilla and perhaps brown sugar? Looked beautiful though, and I added sugar/cinnamon to the top. I used fresh peaches and even though they were super sweet, still not enough to make a difference. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
We did not care for the topping at all. I did substitute butter for the shortening, thinking it would taste better, perhaps that actually made it worse. But the topping was not sweet enough to compliment the peaches (which had a wonderful flavor.) We topped it with some cinnamon sugar and that helped a little. I will keep looking for a fav peach cobbler recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Based on what people were saying about doubling both peaches and topping, it seemed to me using a smaller pan was the key, so I used a loaf pan. Fit perfect, no changes except that I sprinkled a bit of sugar and cinnamon on top to suit my own taste. If you don't have shortening, butter works just as well. Recipe is great 'as is.' Simple, easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was a tasty cobbler. Made in a 13x9, however, I thought the peaches were spread too thin. Next time, I would make in a smaller, deeper dish. The topping spread nicely while it cooked and was a good compliment to the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was a hit! Easy to make, and very tasty! I added extra cinnamon to the peaches, and next time, I'll use more peaches than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
OK. I doubled the recipe for topping. I like to use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Delicious peach cobbler. This recipe is very simple. I made it at the last minute using fresh peaches that I just purchased from the store. I took another reviewers advice and boiled the peaches so peeling was a snap. The only changes was adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon to peach filling and sprinkling sugar/cinnamon on top of cobbler. Several years ago I made my first peach cobbler the traditional way with the homemade pastry crust. It took nearly 5 hours and it didn't taste as good as this one. I will use this recipe often as the taste is superb even with the short preparation time. Some reviewers mentioned the cobbler was bland. I disagree only because the true flavor comes from the peach filling and not the cobbler. The combination of both is what makes this dessert scrumptious. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I thought this was OK, but was a bit disappointed. I felt it needed more sugar and there certainly wasn't enough topping. I made two cobbler recipes; one peach and one mixed berry. I'll have to encourage my qualitycook.com friend to post her recipe because that was certainly the one my family enjoyed the most. Not that I wouldn't make this one again, however, next time I'll double the topping and sweeten it up a little more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This peach cobbler was fantastic. Would definitely add more peaches. The breading on top was perfect. So moist. Would recommend this cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was a really good cobbler receipe. It was quick to make and didn't take many ingredients, which is my favorite kind of receipe. It had good flavor and the topping was not dry or doughey. A little ice cream on top made it the perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States