Fresh Peach Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
One of my co-workers presented me with an abundance of white peaches from her tree. As a thank you, I prepared this recipe and gave the dish to her. Praising comments included, ". . .just like Mom used to make. It's delicious." I used real butter as the shortening and two teaspoons of fresh meyer lemon juice. I made no other changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This pie was just alright. I loved the filling, but wasn't crazy about the biscuit like crust. I personally prefer a flakey crust. My fault, I should have realized it by the ingredients. If you love a biscuit top, you'll love this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used fresh cherries and fresh lemon juice vs peaches and artifical juice. I also substitued butter instead of crisco or other shortenings. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I followed reviewer's advice and doubled the topping. It was a mistake - the fruit/topping ratio was off. Next time, I'll just double both. But I'm not sure there will be a next time. I found the topping bland ever after doubling the sugar (which I never do) and cooking the filling was an extra step that I'm not sure was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great recipe! Also very versatile. I didn't have enough peaches so I used about 3 cups of peaches and 1 cup of strawberries and blackberries. I also didn't have enough white flour so I used mostly whole wheat. It came out wonderfully. This is a great recipe for entertaining, as it comes together very quickly and looks/tastes impressive with a big spoonful of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Really Good! But i would double the peaches and use a 8 X 11 pan as there is just not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is the best peach cobbler I have ever had! I fixed it for a large family dinner party and everyone had to have seconds. I doubled the recipe and used a 10x14 glass dish. Added a bit extra cinnamon to the peaches, added 1/2 more (3x total since I doubled it) of the topping than recipe states, then sprinkled the top with a cinnamon/sugar mix prior to baking. Got to serve it warm with vanilla ice cream: YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is truly old time peach cobbler; like my Mom used to make with biscuit topping. I keep the fruit hot in the oven after cooking the peachs while I'm making the biscuit top. This is important so the biscuits will cook thourghly and not be doughy on the bottom. I gave it 4 stars for 2 reasons; 1.) because I didn't care for the lemon & 2.) you had to double the topping as others suggested. I will make again minus the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe.I doubled the topping like many others suggested but I added some vanilla extract and extra sugar to my topping to make it sweeter and cakey tasting.Great recipe will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was great.I tested it on us first, then I made another for friends when we were invited and had to bring the dessert. I'm making this again for my family supper for 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States