Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Fresh pasta tastes so much better than the boxed stuff. I added a dash of salt to the pasta recipe and used my Kitchen Aide pasta maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
With a pasta machine, this recipe worked well. Would like to try adding spices to it the next time for more tasty pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not worth making without a pasta machine, but well worth it otherwise. Egg size makes a big difference, so be ready to adjust. Italians use this pasta recipe, but Italian eggs have less egg white than american eggs, I usually use 4 c flour, 4 yolks, 3 whites. Make sure to put plenty of salt in the pasta water when you cook this, otherwise it will be bland. Makes great lasagna, fettucini, ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used 4 cups wheat flour with 6 eggs also added salt and bit of vegetable oil. Let it rest for 1 hour. but i used kitchen aid for mixing the dough and kitchen aid pasta attachments for rolling and shaping. my family couldnt stop eating it even without the pasta sause
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Add 1/2 cup water. Recipe otherwise is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is a tried and true basic pasta recipe that I've used for over 40 years. I favor using my mother's rolling pin but once in awhile I dig out my trusty pasta machine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Following all the directions and steps is key.. We've done this 3 times know and it's turn out great everytime! Don't even try this without a machine! I have no idea how you could even get it thin enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Today was the very first time I have ever made homemade noodles, and my 11yo son and I made this recipe with no problems! We followed the advice of one reviewer who suggested to use 4C of flour with the 6 eggs, and that was perfect. I can't imagine using 6C flour. We used our new Marcato Atlas pasta roller/cutter and made flat fettucine noodles for use in turkey noodle soup. The resting period really made a difference in the dough. It was smooth and substantial. The noodles did puff a bit in the soup and were very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
First of all I have been making fresh pasta for about a year. I have had wonderful success with flour, eggs and salt. That is it. That is the recipe for pasta. FLOUR EGGS AND A PINCH OF SALT. Everyone who critized this recipe needs to relax and read ALL of the directions. Fresh pasta is one of the easiest things to make. You must incorporate all the ingredients until smooth and then LET IT REST. You can roll it out with a rolling pin and of course a pasta machine is faster. It just seems to me that many people are ready to criticize the recipe and not take responsibility for the chance that maybe they did it wrong. Please remember that sometimes it is user error and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Easy basic pasta dough recipe. I had no problems with the recipe but did add a teaspoon or so of salt. I suggest you hold back on some of the flour. Flour is different depending on the dampness in the air so you have to consider you may need less or more flour depending on the day. Start with 1 cup less and knead more in if the dough is too sticky. Also flour can absorb liquid differently depending on if you use bleached, unbleached, bread or wheat flour. You want the dough to be "tacky" but not stick to your hands. The dough should pull away from your hands. The recipe also does not indicate what size eggs so that can also be a factor for those who had issues making this recipe. This dough went through my pasta roller easily and did not tear when making ravioli. DO BE SURE to let the dough rest. I make mine the day before I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States