Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a good general recipe for pasta. After reading a variety of the reviews its clear that most didn't mix the pasta long enough to allow the gluton in the flour to do their stuff and then allow it to rest for a half hour. Also, unless you have been making pasta for years, you will not have enough experience on how thin to roll it out. Pasta is generally very thin that is difficult to get to without a machine. I prefer to use 3 eggs and 2 egg yolks with a pinch of salt with that amount of ap flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
First of all I have been making fresh pasta for about a year. I have had wonderful success with flour, eggs and salt. That is it. That is the recipe for pasta. FLOUR EGGS AND A PINCH OF SALT. Everyone who critized this recipe needs to relax and read ALL of the directions. Fresh pasta is one of the easiest things to make. You must incorporate all the ingredients until smooth and then LET IT REST. You can roll it out with a rolling pin and of course a pasta machine is faster. It just seems to me that many people are ready to criticize the recipe and not take responsibility for the chance that maybe they did it wrong. Please remember that sometimes it is user error and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
this is a great basic pasta recipe, one i have used for almost a year now. it works best in casseroles, though, because the all purpose flour can kind of break apart. without a machine, one can roll it out fairly thin but probably not thin enough for a pasta dish. for pasta that holds together very well, use semolina flour instead. and a pinch of salt never hurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Easier way to do it is to combine 1 part egg 3 parts flour to a food processor and blend till it kneads into a ball. add more flour if it's wet. set aside the ball. repeat till you get as many balls as you desire. put it into the fridge or let it sit for 30 mins (or more). following which you use a pasta machine and roll out the noodle. i don't see myself kneading and using a rolling pin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Without a pasta machine, I found it difficult to get the pasta thin enough. The recipe itself was easy and fairly tasty, but the presentation was not very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Today was the very first time I have ever made homemade noodles, and my 11yo son and I made this recipe with no problems! We followed the advice of one reviewer who suggested to use 4C of flour with the 6 eggs, and that was perfect. I can't imagine using 6C flour. We used our new Marcato Atlas pasta roller/cutter and made flat fettucine noodles for use in turkey noodle soup. The resting period really made a difference in the dough. It was smooth and substantial. The noodles did puff a bit in the soup and were very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The mixture of only flour and eggs make a mound of flakes, this was a really bad recipe. I had to add olive oil and water to make it work. The adding of theses two ingredients work great the dough turned out perfectly when I added the ingredients. So I wouldn't ever use this recipe ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Fresh pasta tastes so much better than the boxed stuff. I added a dash of salt to the pasta recipe and used my Kitchen Aide pasta maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
With a pasta machine, this recipe worked well. Would like to try adding spices to it the next time for more tasty pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Delicious! I recommend starting out with less flour for the well, though- maybe 4 cups and add more if needed. I always end up adding more eggs because it is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States