Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Without a pasta machine, I found it difficult to get the pasta thin enough. The recipe itself was easy and fairly tasty, but the presentation was not very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
With a pasta machine, this recipe worked well. Would like to try adding spices to it the next time for more tasty pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Fresh pasta tastes so much better than the boxed stuff. I added a dash of salt to the pasta recipe and used my Kitchen Aide pasta maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
this is a great basic pasta recipe, one i have used for almost a year now. it works best in casseroles, though, because the all purpose flour can kind of break apart. without a machine, one can roll it out fairly thin but probably not thin enough for a pasta dish. for pasta that holds together very well, use semolina flour instead. and a pinch of salt never hurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The mixture of only flour and eggs make a mound of flakes, this was a really bad recipe. I had to add olive oil and water to make it work. The adding of theses two ingredients work great the dough turned out perfectly when I added the ingredients. So I wouldn't ever use this recipe ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
kind of tough - we used this to make ravioli and it worked - but it was hard to work with and the dough turned out chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Delicious! I recommend starting out with less flour for the well, though- maybe 4 cups and add more if needed. I always end up adding more eggs because it is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
If you don't have a pasta machine, don't bother with this, it's so hard to roll out, I only did a third of the recipe, and I'm already tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a good general recipe for pasta. After reading a variety of the reviews its clear that most didn't mix the pasta long enough to allow the gluton in the flour to do their stuff and then allow it to rest for a half hour. Also, unless you have been making pasta for years, you will not have enough experience on how thin to roll it out. Pasta is generally very thin that is difficult to get to without a machine. I prefer to use 3 eggs and 2 egg yolks with a pinch of salt with that amount of ap flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made these noodles with my girls today just for fun. We found the dough a little hard to roll out but not impossible. They were very good with our spaghetti sauce and fun to know we made the Whole meal our selves from scratch. We were very proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsm6kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States