Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Following all the directions and steps is key.. We've done this 3 times know and it's turn out great everytime! Don't even try this without a machine! I have no idea how you could even get it thin enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was my first attempt at homemade pasta and it was rough! I tried everything the other raters suggested but to no avail. It was dry and flaky, so I persisted like someone said and tried to spend more time with the dough. It didn't work, so I tried the food processor with the dough attachment...a little bit of olive oil. A little better...but it was still way way too dry. I can't imagine how this recipe every has a moist dough with all that flour. I haven't given up. But guess I need to read more about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The secret to good pasta is Italian "00" flour. (I had to order it online but grocery stores might sell it in larger cities.) Taste and texture is completely different with the right flour. This recipe also needs at least a tsp of salt and a tsp of olive oil. The directions doesn't specify time, but it must be kneaded for at least 10-15 minutes to get a good texture. Squeezing the dough like a stress ball can help to loosen it up when it gets too stiff to knead "properly." I use a pasta machine to roll out the dough (wouldn't bother making it without it) and I only cook the spaghetti for 30 seconds so that it's nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
tasteless, and extremely ugly, the pasta turned out grey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Didn't turn out. Too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was a very simple recipe. I tried to make one serving only, using 1 egg and 1 cup of flour. It was too dry so I added one more egg and 1 Tbsp of water. That was perfect. It actually made enough fettuccine width noodles for two people. This was my first time making fresh pasta. I rolled it out as thin as I could and used a pizza cutter to cut long strips and this worked just fine. I cooked it for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Easier way to do it is to combine 1 part egg 3 parts flour to a food processor and blend till it kneads into a ball. add more flour if it's wet. set aside the ball. repeat till you get as many balls as you desire. put it into the fridge or let it sit for 30 mins (or more). following which you use a pasta machine and roll out the noodle. i don't see myself kneading and using a rolling pin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Today was the very first time I have ever made homemade noodles, and my 11yo son and I made this recipe with no problems! We followed the advice of one reviewer who suggested to use 4C of flour with the 6 eggs, and that was perfect. I can't imagine using 6C flour. We used our new Marcato Atlas pasta roller/cutter and made flat fettucine noodles for use in turkey noodle soup. The resting period really made a difference in the dough. It was smooth and substantial. The noodles did puff a bit in the soup and were very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good~! Simple~! I had to add water to it to get proper consistency. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made these noodles with my girls today just for fun. We found the dough a little hard to roll out but not impossible. They were very good with our spaghetti sauce and fun to know we made the Whole meal our selves from scratch. We were very proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsm6kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States