Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
For those who don't work with flour often, you should use a quality flour, I like King Arthur. Also, take into consideration the humidity when adding the flour, If the humidity is high you will most likely need all of the flour, if the humidity is low, you can add the flour in parts to see if the consistancy is correct. Just adding all the flour and mixing it and working it too much will produce a tough pasta. It is much like making bread, I sift mine first and just add as much as is needed to make a nice dough. Let it rest and the rest will be somewhat easier if you don't have a pasta machine. Humidity matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICEPEARCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wellborn, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Add 1/2 cup water. Recipe otherwise is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me. It was my first time making pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used 4 cups wheat flour with 6 eggs also added salt and bit of vegetable oil. Let it rest for 1 hour. but i used kitchen aid for mixing the dough and kitchen aid pasta attachments for rolling and shaping. my family couldnt stop eating it even without the pasta sause
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
First time I made this recipe, I had WAY more pasta than I knew what to do with. I have found the ratio of 1-egg to 1-cup flour plus a little salt works for any size meal needed, just adjust as needed. I do use a pasta machine, and it always comes together during the rolling out stage, although it looks like a mess till then! About to try it as Ravioli, so wish me luck! HEHE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
made mine with half whole wheat flour added an egg and one tbsp water it made a good dough that was easy to roll out would like to try it sometime with a pasta machine though. My one year old loved it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
First of all I have been making fresh pasta for about a year. I have had wonderful success with flour, eggs and salt. That is it. That is the recipe for pasta. FLOUR EGGS AND A PINCH OF SALT. Everyone who critized this recipe needs to relax and read ALL of the directions. Fresh pasta is one of the easiest things to make. You must incorporate all the ingredients until smooth and then LET IT REST. You can roll it out with a rolling pin and of course a pasta machine is faster. It just seems to me that many people are ready to criticize the recipe and not take responsibility for the chance that maybe they did it wrong. Please remember that sometimes it is user error and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachel :D
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this is a great basic pasta recipe. It turned out pretty food with just a garlic buttersauce with pepperchinis(?). I added a littel water to the dough while kneeding to hold it together a littel better. And be prepared for a lot of rolling if your doing it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel :D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not worth making without a pasta machine, but well worth it otherwise. Egg size makes a big difference, so be ready to adjust. Italians use this pasta recipe, but Italian eggs have less egg white than american eggs, I usually use 4 c flour, 4 yolks, 3 whites. Make sure to put plenty of salt in the pasta water when you cook this, otherwise it will be bland. Makes great lasagna, fettucini, ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I handroll all of my pasta and this was a decent recipe. I don't use the "well" method and this still worked fine. Egg pastas tend to be more sticky so you need a floured surface to roll on. Don't use the "well" and flour your surface. If you are impatient about rolling, don't roll it as thin and use a pizza cutter to cut it in squares. You'll have an orrichelli sized pasta great for cream or tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States