Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
First time I made this recipe, I had WAY more pasta than I knew what to do with. I have found the ratio of 1-egg to 1-cup flour plus a little salt works for any size meal needed, just adjust as needed. I do use a pasta machine, and it always comes together during the rolling out stage, although it looks like a mess till then! About to try it as Ravioli, so wish me luck! HEHE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
made mine with half whole wheat flour added an egg and one tbsp water it made a good dough that was easy to roll out would like to try it sometime with a pasta machine though. My one year old loved it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
First of all I have been making fresh pasta for about a year. I have had wonderful success with flour, eggs and salt. That is it. That is the recipe for pasta. FLOUR EGGS AND A PINCH OF SALT. Everyone who critized this recipe needs to relax and read ALL of the directions. Fresh pasta is one of the easiest things to make. You must incorporate all the ingredients until smooth and then LET IT REST. You can roll it out with a rolling pin and of course a pasta machine is faster. It just seems to me that many people are ready to criticize the recipe and not take responsibility for the chance that maybe they did it wrong. Please remember that sometimes it is user error and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachel :D
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this is a great basic pasta recipe. It turned out pretty food with just a garlic buttersauce with pepperchinis(?). I added a littel water to the dough while kneeding to hold it together a littel better. And be prepared for a lot of rolling if your doing it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel :D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not worth making without a pasta machine, but well worth it otherwise. Egg size makes a big difference, so be ready to adjust. Italians use this pasta recipe, but Italian eggs have less egg white than american eggs, I usually use 4 c flour, 4 yolks, 3 whites. Make sure to put plenty of salt in the pasta water when you cook this, otherwise it will be bland. Makes great lasagna, fettucini, ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I handroll all of my pasta and this was a decent recipe. I don't use the "well" method and this still worked fine. Egg pastas tend to be more sticky so you need a floured surface to roll on. Don't use the "well" and flour your surface. If you are impatient about rolling, don't roll it as thin and use a pizza cutter to cut it in squares. You'll have an orrichelli sized pasta great for cream or tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Following all the directions and steps is key.. We've done this 3 times know and it's turn out great everytime! Don't even try this without a machine! I have no idea how you could even get it thin enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was my first attempt at homemade pasta and it was rough! I tried everything the other raters suggested but to no avail. It was dry and flaky, so I persisted like someone said and tried to spend more time with the dough. It didn't work, so I tried the food processor with the dough attachment...a little bit of olive oil. A little better...but it was still way way too dry. I can't imagine how this recipe every has a moist dough with all that flour. I haven't given up. But guess I need to read more about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The secret to good pasta is Italian "00" flour. (I had to order it online but grocery stores might sell it in larger cities.) Taste and texture is completely different with the right flour. This recipe also needs at least a tsp of salt and a tsp of olive oil. The directions doesn't specify time, but it must be kneaded for at least 10-15 minutes to get a good texture. Squeezing the dough like a stress ball can help to loosen it up when it gets too stiff to knead "properly." I use a pasta machine to roll out the dough (wouldn't bother making it without it) and I only cook the spaghetti for 30 seconds so that it's nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
tasteless, and extremely ugly, the pasta turned out grey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States