Fresh Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is a tried and true basic pasta recipe that I've used for over 40 years. I favor using my mother's rolling pin but once in awhile I dig out my trusty pasta machine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Easy basic pasta dough recipe. I had no problems with the recipe but did add a teaspoon or so of salt. I suggest you hold back on some of the flour. Flour is different depending on the dampness in the air so you have to consider you may need less or more flour depending on the day. Start with 1 cup less and knead more in if the dough is too sticky. Also flour can absorb liquid differently depending on if you use bleached, unbleached, bread or wheat flour. You want the dough to be "tacky" but not stick to your hands. The dough should pull away from your hands. The recipe also does not indicate what size eggs so that can also be a factor for those who had issues making this recipe. This dough went through my pasta roller easily and did not tear when making ravioli. DO BE SURE to let the dough rest. I make mine the day before I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The amounts seem off...I did a half recipe and had to use 5 eggs with 3 cups of flour. I used large eggs and after the first 3, it looked like bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I just used 4 cups of flour as reccommended by another reviewer. You definitely need a pasta machine, which I don't have. In which case, it probably would have turned out a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pakenham, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
for 2 servings 2 cups flour and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
For those who don't work with flour often, you should use a quality flour, I like King Arthur. Also, take into consideration the humidity when adding the flour, If the humidity is high you will most likely need all of the flour, if the humidity is low, you can add the flour in parts to see if the consistancy is correct. Just adding all the flour and mixing it and working it too much will produce a tough pasta. It is much like making bread, I sift mine first and just add as much as is needed to make a nice dough. Let it rest and the rest will be somewhat easier if you don't have a pasta machine. Humidity matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICEPEARCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wellborn, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Add 1/2 cup water. Recipe otherwise is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
maybe it's just me, but I just wasted time, flour and eggs. It was my first time making pasta and after this most likely the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used 4 cups wheat flour with 6 eggs also added salt and bit of vegetable oil. Let it rest for 1 hour. but i used kitchen aid for mixing the dough and kitchen aid pasta attachments for rolling and shaping. my family couldnt stop eating it even without the pasta sause
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
First time I made this recipe, I had WAY more pasta than I knew what to do with. I have found the ratio of 1-egg to 1-cup flour plus a little salt works for any size meal needed, just adjust as needed. I do use a pasta machine, and it always comes together during the rolling out stage, although it looks like a mess till then! About to try it as Ravioli, so wish me luck! HEHE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States