Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
this was so good! i chose this recipe to help use up some mushrooms and leftover brown rice that were sitting in the fridge.. i sauteed the veggies and then added the cooked brown rice and beef (instead of chicken) bouillon granules to the pot.. then salt and peppered to taste.. ty so much for this super simple yet tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love mushrooms, so, I thought I would get this a try. Honestly I wasn't expecting a wow flavor because it didn't appear to have too much seasoning in the recipe. Boy, was I wrong! The flavor was very good and had a wonderful mushroom flavor that infused the rice. I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so, I used part chicken broth and part water. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. The only thing I would do differently is add something a little fresh at the end like some fresh parsley or a sprinkle of green onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved this rice. I used 8oz baby portabella mushrooms, a small onion, celery (in lieu of green pepper) and 3 cloves garlic. I also added about a quarter cup of grated parmesan at the end. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I like the combination of ingredients although the rice turned out a little on the bland side. But goes great with a savory dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
my boyfriend absolutely loved this! I didn't have green pepper and followed others' advice and added some garlic. This is a nice change from plain rice and as my boyfriend said "a definite keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
We loved the mushrooms, but the rice itself was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We loved this! I omitted the green pepper (didn't have any), and added garlic in with the mushroom/onion mixture. Great combo of flavors...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I too enjoyed this recipe greatly!: although I have substituted celery for the bell pepper every time I've made this pilaf. The instruction to add garlic seemed unnecessary as garlic powder is already called for, I did however omit the powder in favour of one clove of fresh. This is a great accompaniment to many a meal!! Thanks for this versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
good with few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! I added some chopped celery and red bell pepper as well as the mushrooms and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States