Fresh Mozzarella Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was so-so. My fiance and I grilled out with family today. I made two salads to accompany our brats and Italian sausages. Not wanting heavy, mayonnaise-laden salads, this seemed to be the perfect complement. While I liked this, I can't agree with Naples34102 more. I like my caprese straight up! This was a little too bland for my liking (but my fiance and his bros seemed to like it...). I'd like to try this again, but maybe with mozzarella marinated in Italian dressing / seasonings or with Italian dressing in lieu of the EVOO and red pepper flakes (the pepper, while not awful, seemed out of place to me...). My only chage was to add a little more than 1/4 c. of basil (I can't seem to get enough of the stuff!) and the juice of half a lemon, simply because I had it on hand. All in all, this was a good salad, but not one that I'd jump out of my seat to make again soon. We'll see how this tastes tomorrow (maybe that will change my tune???). Thanks anyways, Meghan! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Exellent sumertime treat! I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was wonderful, I would not change a thing! Had with baby back ribs on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Was really bland, even after adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this salad on the 4th of July for a family picnic. It got mixed reviews-some loved it, some said okay and some just didn't like it. "Too spicy, not spicy enough, too bland, very tasty, liked the orzo, change the noodle..." You get the drift. I liked it personally so when I make it again, I will try it with different noodles, use McCormick Italian spices instead of red pepper as someone suggested and take it from there. What I loved was the fresh mozzarella, basil and tomato. Based on the comments of family and friends, I probably should give this 3 stars as an average but since I am the one rating this and I happened to like it, I am giving it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attica, New York, USA
Living In: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Has great potential, but the red pepper was just too much! If I make it again, I'll leave out the red pepper, and maybe add italian dressing like other reviews mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Very fresh and a great way to use the basil I grow every summer. Only a 4 b/c it was just a little bland but the freshness made up for that. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought it was good but like all the other reviewers, it needed something. I added some lemon juice and garlic powder. It still tasted a bit bland. I would make it again though. Maybe a little italian salad dressing would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Awesome and so easy! Since other reviewers said this was too bland, I just mixed the orzo, mozzarella, vine ripe tomatoes, and fresh basil with a little Italian dressing. Worked like a charm. Didn't need the red pepper, olive oil, or anything else, but make sure the mozzarella, tomatoes, and basil are fresh!! Otherwise, there isn't any point of making this type of dish. Very good salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I did not have red pepper flakes, so I added McCormick's Italian Herb Grinders seasoning on my serving. I feel this gave the recipe the added flavor others say this recipe is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States