Fresh Lime Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Good sweetness level and tart zing. Perfect cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this for margarita cupcakes and it was absolute perfection. I usually modify recipes but I tried this exactly as is and it was spot on-- not too sweet, not too tart and so easy (my first time making a curd and first time using a double boiler-- and by that I mean a pot with a metal bowl on top). Thanks a lot for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Tastes great alone but outrageously good as a dessert filling. Tripled the recipe; made as written. Used real key limes from Key West, FL rather than larger Persian limes more commonly found in grocery stores. Knowing there was an insufficient number of limes to make 2-1/4 cups of juice, subbed Nellie & Joe's Famous Key West Lime Juice 100% Natural Juice to make up the shortfall {1 lb. (18-20) key limes yield about 3/4 cup juice}. Filled individual graham cracker tartlet shells with lime curd, and garnished with a thin slice of kiwi, a few unsweetened coconut flakes, and a small Amaretti cookie. Sarah, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I stirred everything together and cooked stove-top for twenty minutes then strained. I reduced butter to 2 tablespoons because I don't like a greasy curd. I used 5 domestic limes to get the 3/4 cup of liquid. Finished product, after straining = 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. This was my first time making any sort of curd, and now I wonder why I waited so long! This is simple and delicious. A couple of tips: to help prevent the egg from "scrambling" when added to the hot mixture, place the whole eggs in a mug of warm water at the very beginning of starting this recipe. That way the eggs will blend together much more easily. Whisk constantly while SLOWLY adding the eggs. I used the curd in mini tart shells. I left half plain and half I poured melted chocolate into before adding the curd. Next time I will add a few fresh blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe tasted excellent! I doubled it to top a key lime cheesecake I made, and my guests loved it. My only comment is that it's important to stir continuously when cooking for the 20-25 minutes, to ensure a smooth consistency in your final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was REALLY tart, I mean so tart that it had a bite in the back of your throat - and I only used key limes. I am currently attempting to make it usable by adding in a T more butter, some simple syrup and another egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Turned out perfect! Husband about ate the entire bowl ...just dipping bread in it. I did make it in the microwave. Heated it on high for 30 second intervals, stirring between each interval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious! Goes great with greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This Curd is FANTASTIC I made it to top a key lime cheesecake I made for a Laborday party. I added a drop of green food dye to bring out the green color just because it was for a party. Temper the eggs SLOW to keep from getting egg bits in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Get the Most Juice from a Lime

See how to get the most juice from even the stingiest lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States