Fresh Lime Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe was very simple and delicious. I tried it on 7/18/2015 as a topping for cheesecake -- it worked perfectly for what I wanted. I made enough to have plenty more to use on toast, etc. and everyone who has tried it has really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
My middle sister and I were in the mood for both Key Lime Pie and Cheesecake, but didn't like the recipes for the Key Lime Cheesecake online or on Pinterest, so we wound up working with 2 different recipes and, at her suggestion, topped it with lime curd. She had made lemon curd before, but not lime, but we had the Key Limes so we googled and came across this recipe. We used it as a spread on top of the cheesecake and wow was it good! This recipe is not for the faint of heart! If you like a nice tart taste with a little sweetness, this is heaven! I plan on making itagain this weekend for a Church supper and will definitely take pictures this time of the finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Armstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Wow! Excellent recipe! Made it for mini cheesecakes on this site (my go to fav). Not sure if any will make it. Can't stop sneaking spoonfuls! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinrosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Good sweetness level and tart zing. Perfect cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this for margarita cupcakes and it was absolute perfection. I usually modify recipes but I tried this exactly as is and it was spot on-- not too sweet, not too tart and so easy (my first time making a curd and first time using a double boiler-- and by that I mean a pot with a metal bowl on top). Thanks a lot for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Tastes great alone but outrageously good as a dessert filling. Tripled the recipe; made as written. Used real key limes from Key West, FL rather than larger Persian limes more commonly found in grocery stores. Knowing there was an insufficient number of limes to make 2-1/4 cups of juice, subbed Nellie & Joe's Famous Key West Lime Juice 100% Natural Juice to make up the shortfall {1 lb. (18-20) key limes yield about 3/4 cup juice}. Filled individual graham cracker tartlet shells with lime curd, and garnished with a thin slice of kiwi, a few unsweetened coconut flakes, and a small Amaretti cookie. Sarah, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I stirred everything together and cooked stove-top for twenty minutes then strained. I reduced butter to 2 tablespoons because I don't like a greasy curd. I used 5 domestic limes to get the 3/4 cup of liquid. Finished product, after straining = 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. This was my first time making any sort of curd, and now I wonder why I waited so long! This is simple and delicious. A couple of tips: to help prevent the egg from "scrambling" when added to the hot mixture, place the whole eggs in a mug of warm water at the very beginning of starting this recipe. That way the eggs will blend together much more easily. Whisk constantly while SLOWLY adding the eggs. I used the curd in mini tart shells. I left half plain and half I poured melted chocolate into before adding the curd. Next time I will add a few fresh blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe tasted excellent! I doubled it to top a key lime cheesecake I made, and my guests loved it. My only comment is that it's important to stir continuously when cooking for the 20-25 minutes, to ensure a smooth consistency in your final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was REALLY tart, I mean so tart that it had a bite in the back of your throat - and I only used key limes. I am currently attempting to make it usable by adding in a T more butter, some simple syrup and another egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States