Fresh Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This pretty classic pound cake has a delicate and pleasant fresh lemon flavor with a dense, moist crumb - but for me it was almost too dense, too compact. While in theory it isn't necessary, I think I would prefer this with the extra bit of lift a little baking powder would give it, maybe 1/2 teaspoon. A pinch of salt never hurts either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I was looking for a simple lemon cake from scratch and you saved the day for me! I used the Meyer's lemons I had on hand and make a cherry jam ribbon in the center . A simple lemon juice and powdered sugar icing and the elbows were flying!! I am keeping this excellent recipe in my personal hard copy recipe book! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Very moist and easy to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe (no modifications) and didn't love it. The consistency was that of a pound cake (no problem there) but the flavor was bland. I probably wouldn't make it again unless I did some major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe kicked last weeks lemon bread's butt. It was easy and yummy. Its not low fat or diet approved. But it tasted so yummy!! 5 people inhaled the whole thing. I used raspberry jam in the bundt pan. I am going to make it again. I can't stop thinking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very delicious. I added a bit of salt and baking powder as another reviewer suggested with good results. Everyone wanted seconds. I made a raspberry sauce and poured over top which was a nice addition for Easter but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This cake is amazing! I just made it using the advice of putting in a little salt and baking powder. I also made a lemon glaze. This will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelanda01

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this recipe twice. The first time I followed it exactly as written and the cake was okay. The second time I added a box of lemon pudding and baking powder. I also added a dash of lemon extract. I like my cake very lemony. It was delicious! The pudding mix makes it moist. The cake was very dense! I made one with lemon icing and another one with cream cheese icing. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is the best lemon cake I have ever had!! Super moist . I added 1/2 cup of lemon and lime zest as I like it very citrusy. This will be my go to company or luncheon cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe and it was too bland and too heavy... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenya27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States