Fresh Green Chile Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was actually good, but I made fairly significant changes so I don't think I can give four stars. For one thing, green chile and feta cheese are really not terribly good together. I substituted a combination of bleu cheese, sharp cheddar and parmegiano-reggiano, with some sundried tomatoes and essentially followed the recipe as is. Like I said, it was pretty good and with a few more tweaks could be excellent. Trust me though, feta cheese and green chile are a very strange-tasting combination and the resulting aftertaste may put you off, which would be a shame because this is a very good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is great. I agree with the previous rating in the fact that I don't think feta would go to well with green chile. The only recommendation I would make is make sure you use a deep dish pie crust and place on a cookie sheet for baking. I used the cookie sheet, luckily, but it spilled over so I didn't have much egg mixture after that. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I substituted goat for the feta cheese. Next time I would only use a pinch of onions and would have added another vegetable! It was almost like onion quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I suibsitited the feta with blue cheese like suggested and got nothing but rave's from shower guests. I'm from N.M. so I had fresh Hatch green chili. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made this for dinner and it turned out great.Based on the other reviewers I omitted the feta,used chedder and Jack cheese only, added garlic to the onion and a little cayenne. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Turned out great! I used fresh hatch chiles... yumm! I made a few subs, as suggested by others. I used crumbled tofu instead of feta (similar texture), Asiago instead of Monterrey, Colby instead of Cheddar, and 4 eggs rather than 3. I also added some spices - crushed red pepper, paprika, chili powder, cumin, etc. I had small pie crusts so this mix was enough for two. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Yum! So easy to make and delicious! I prepared it before leaving for church and we were able to eat soon after returning home! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea 'Smith' Krueger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My first attempt at quiche. Was easy, and turned out amazing and yummy. My family loved it and I will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a great recipe - I have made it 2 times. My changes are this: DO NOT ADD feta Use only 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 cup. I got a lot of compliments on this dish. I think it's a great base for a quiche BTW - crumbled bacon might be good on top - but I haven't tried it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love this recipe!! It is so hearty, and extremely easy to make. I made two cause I make slices in the morning and eat it on my way to work when I am in a hurry, which is most of the time. The only thing I did different is, I added mushrooms, and I had a ham steak that I cut into bite size pieces, and it was really delicious. Next time I might try ground sausage. Love this thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States