Fresh Green Chile Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was actually good, but I made fairly significant changes so I don't think I can give four stars. For one thing, green chile and feta cheese are really not terribly good together. I substituted a combination of bleu cheese, sharp cheddar and parmegiano-reggiano, with some sundried tomatoes and essentially followed the recipe as is. Like I said, it was pretty good and with a few more tweaks could be excellent. Trust me though, feta cheese and green chile are a very strange-tasting combination and the resulting aftertaste may put you off, which would be a shame because this is a very good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is great. I agree with the previous rating in the fact that I don't think feta would go to well with green chile. The only recommendation I would make is make sure you use a deep dish pie crust and place on a cookie sheet for baking. I used the cookie sheet, luckily, but it spilled over so I didn't have much egg mixture after that. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I substituted goat for the feta cheese. Next time I would only use a pinch of onions and would have added another vegetable! It was almost like onion quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I suibsitited the feta with blue cheese like suggested and got nothing but rave's from shower guests. I'm from N.M. so I had fresh Hatch green chili. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made this for dinner and it turned out great.Based on the other reviewers I omitted the feta,used chedder and Jack cheese only, added garlic to the onion and a little cayenne. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Turned out great! I used fresh hatch chiles... yumm! I made a few subs, as suggested by others. I used crumbled tofu instead of feta (similar texture), Asiago instead of Monterrey, Colby instead of Cheddar, and 4 eggs rather than 3. I also added some spices - crushed red pepper, paprika, chili powder, cumin, etc. I had small pie crusts so this mix was enough for two. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Yum! So easy to make and delicious! I prepared it before leaving for church and we were able to eat soon after returning home! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My first attempt at quiche. Was easy, and turned out amazing and yummy. My family loved it and I will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a great recipe - I have made it 2 times. My changes are this: DO NOT ADD feta Use only 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 cup. I got a lot of compliments on this dish. I think it's a great base for a quiche BTW - crumbled bacon might be good on top - but I haven't tried it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love this recipe!! It is so hearty, and extremely easy to make. I made two cause I make slices in the morning and eat it on my way to work when I am in a hurry, which is most of the time. The only thing I did different is, I added mushrooms, and I had a ham steak that I cut into bite size pieces, and it was really delicious. Next time I might try ground sausage. Love this thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States