Fresh Grapefruit Juice Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I didn't have any bananas, but it was super yum with fresh grapefruit juice, strawberry kefir, and frozen strawberries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This would be a great smoothie to serve at breakfast or brunch. We omitted the crushed ice as we used frozen fruit; that being said our strawberries were pre-sliced into thirds so I tossed in about a cup to a cup and a half (which seems like too much based on the colour of the photos here). After reading many reviews, I was confident that using vanilla yogurt instead of strawberry-banana would bring out the grapefruit flavour and lessen the sweetness of the beverage. I did use packaged grapefruit juice since I had it on hand (Tropicana Ruby Red, to be exact) but this would be much better with freshly squeezed. My hubby-to-be did not care for the flavour much, so he added Nutriwhip (a sort of sweetened, liquid cream that is sold in a carton that you whip yourself) to whatever was left in the blender which made it creamier, and less sour-tasting to him. I like it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This smoothie is delicious! I followed the recipe, save for using vanilla yogurt. One reviewer complained that the grapefruit flavor didn't come through enough using the strawberry banana yogurt, so vanilla must be what makes the difference, as I could taste it very well. One other small adjustment I made was to use all frozen fruit instead of ice. I find ice dilutes a smoothie. When I have overripe bananas, I peel them, put in a freezer bag and freeze. Convenient for smoothies, and an overripe banana usually makes additional sweetener unneccessary. Because of the grapefruit juice in this one though, I used the sweetener. Two large grapefruits produces the 1 1/3 cups of juice, but next time I'll just peel and section the fruit rather than juicing. I think fresh is the only way to go with this one. One other thing: this recipe makes 4 cups, which is not 2 servings IF you consider an 8 oz. glass one serving. Having said that, it was so good that I downed 2 cups! My kids liked it too (tastes like candy, Mom!) Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Only used a cup of grapefruit juice and added two more bananas to cut down on the super tart flavor it had. Instead of using crushed ice I always use lowfat vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarShyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Easy and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mholquin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Pretty good. I liked it a lot but my family said it was a little bland. It came out better when we added some berry sherbet; about 2 scoops. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Chester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I thought I'd give it a try but the grapefruit still makes it too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinf31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I used 4 strawberries and half a frozen bannana to not lose all the grapefruit flavor. Great smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Pretty good but with a name like "fresh grapefruit juice smoothie", I expected something that tasted a little more like grapefruit. Really this is a strawberry bannan smoothie with a little grapefruit. Worth making again with a little tweaking to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I loved it...perfect for breakfast since I usually avoid this meal - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States