Fresh Grapefruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is not good. TASTELESS! It doesn't taste like grapefruit at all! It might better be categorized as, "The Egg, Butter & Flour Cake". Perhaps you could eliminate the milk and add more grapefruit juice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
The cake was good, although I agree with the other reviewer, it was kind of bland. It definitely needed to be iced. I made a simple icing from powdered sugar, a little butter, and fresh grapefruit juice -- with the icing, it was pretty yummy. It was also very crumbly, perhaps because I had to substitute for cake flour (1 cup cake flour = 2 Tb cornstarch in a cup measure - then fill to 1 cup level with regular flour). I made it in a bundt pan & it took about 50-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
A really good way to use up grapefruit. I added some extra juice and rind after reading the other reviews and gave it a cream cheese icing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotorua, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was a good cake but laked in flavor. So to spice it up I made a glaze to go over it. To make the glaze mix some grapefruit juice and powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, but it needs cream cheese frosting. I added 3 tbsp of grapefruit juice and 1 tsp of grapefruit zest to frosting. I put crushed grapefruit between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Good when you make a few changes. I had several fresh grapefruit I needed to use up so I used my juicer and added all grapefruit juice and no milk. I also put in about half a grapefruit finely diced into the batter. It added the perfect tangy kick and really tasted like grapefruit. I also made a glaze of powdered sugar and grapefruit juice to drizzle over it. Made a flavorful cake with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried the recipe 12/29/2009. I followed the suggestions that said to add extra grapefuit juice and icing. But I also added a bit of cinnamon sugar and nutmeg. I didn't have cake flour so I used regular flour and it made more than what my bundt pan would hold, so I made a small pan to go with it. I made it with my niece and nephews, they enjoyed making it with me and it turned out great. My husband even said it was tasty as well. A great recipe to add to the collection and get rid of grapefruit :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I thought it was a good basic cake recipe. I when the cake cooled I poured grapefruit and fresh OJ on top of the cake, I think a great consistency and a awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A beautiful cake, with rave reviews from all who tasted it. I made this cake yesterday, adding all juice instead of milk, rind from one grapefruit and the flesh chopped up into cake mixture, then cooking it in a bundt pan. I then poked holes in the top and glazed it with icing sugar and juice. It was such a success that now I'm going to attempt cupcakes the same way today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used all grapefruit juice instead of milk, added lots of zest and a bit of lemon too. Top this cake with lemon cream cheese frosting and you won't want to share it with anyone else ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States