Fresh Grapefruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Good when you make a few changes. I had several fresh grapefruit I needed to use up so I used my juicer and added all grapefruit juice and no milk. I also put in about half a grapefruit finely diced into the batter. It added the perfect tangy kick and really tasted like grapefruit. I also made a glaze of powdered sugar and grapefruit juice to drizzle over it. Made a flavorful cake with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A beautiful cake, with rave reviews from all who tasted it. I made this cake yesterday, adding all juice instead of milk, rind from one grapefruit and the flesh chopped up into cake mixture, then cooking it in a bundt pan. I then poked holes in the top and glazed it with icing sugar and juice. It was such a success that now I'm going to attempt cupcakes the same way today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, but it needs cream cheese frosting. I added 3 tbsp of grapefruit juice and 1 tsp of grapefruit zest to frosting. I put crushed grapefruit between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
The cake was good, although I agree with the other reviewer, it was kind of bland. It definitely needed to be iced. I made a simple icing from powdered sugar, a little butter, and fresh grapefruit juice -- with the icing, it was pretty yummy. It was also very crumbly, perhaps because I had to substitute for cake flour (1 cup cake flour = 2 Tb cornstarch in a cup measure - then fill to 1 cup level with regular flour). I made it in a bundt pan & it took about 50-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is not good. TASTELESS! It doesn't taste like grapefruit at all! It might better be categorized as, "The Egg, Butter & Flour Cake". Perhaps you could eliminate the milk and add more grapefruit juice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
A really good way to use up grapefruit. I added some extra juice and rind after reading the other reviews and gave it a cream cheese icing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotorua, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried the recipe 12/29/2009. I followed the suggestions that said to add extra grapefuit juice and icing. But I also added a bit of cinnamon sugar and nutmeg. I didn't have cake flour so I used regular flour and it made more than what my bundt pan would hold, so I made a small pan to go with it. I made it with my niece and nephews, they enjoyed making it with me and it turned out great. My husband even said it was tasty as well. A great recipe to add to the collection and get rid of grapefruit :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was a good cake but laked in flavor. So to spice it up I made a glaze to go over it. To make the glaze mix some grapefruit juice and powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I am so surprised that there isn't a photo with this recipe. This recipe is great and tastes wonderful. I made it for my daughter because she loves grapefruit. I added a grapefruit curd and grapefruit butter cream in between the layers topping it with fresh sturdy whipped cream. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is my all time favorite cake recipe. Everyone who tries it LOVES it. My mom froze the birthday cake I made for her and sawed off a piece at a time so that she could have it all year long. When I make it I sub extra grapefruit juice for the milk and I usually add in about 20% more fluid (juice + milk) than the recipe calls for. I also add more zest than is called for and leave a little bit of pulp in the juice. And be sure that you use fresh grapefruits - it makes a HUGE difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States