Fresh Grapefruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My attempt to make this recipe was a comedy of errors. We just moved into our home so I am living half out of boxes. My original plan was to make muffins with cream cheese icing. I had an old grapefruit, still good but just starting to show its age. I adjusted all ingredients for high altitude. I prepped the liquid ingredients first. I followed the popular recommendation to sub out the milk for more grapefruit juice but I didn't have enough juice so I used apple sauce to make up the difference. The rind was a little dry so I had very little zest. Then I prepped the dry ingredients with with cane sugar instead of white, but I didn't have enough gluten free flour. It was too late to recalculate the other ingredients. After digging around in boxes, I found some gluten free cookie mix & used that to make up the difference. I greased & sugared the muffin tins, filled the tins with batter & baked at 325 convection for 30 minutes. I ended up with weird gross-looking concave cookie muffin hybrids! They were super-glazed from the sugar oil & hard as rocks on the outside!!! The second batch I only oiled the muffin tins. The muffins stuck so I destroyed them getting them out. The third batch I oiled & floured with the last of the gluten free cookie mix & they came out a little easier. But its not about the looks. They all were DELICIOUS!!!!! Soft & chewy on the inside like cookies with a hint of grapefruit YUM!!!! No icing needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made some modifications based on the other reviews and my taste: vegetable oil instead of butter, all grapefruit juice instead of mixing w/milk, doubled the zest, and a bit of almond extract with the vanilla. I also reduced the sugar to a scant cup. I thought it was pretty good, although I would've liked more grapefruit flavor. I'd make it again, maybe with a flavored glaze or more zest (not a fan of icing/frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I followed others suggestions and replaced milk with grapefruit juice and in my opinion that might have been a mistake, both my husband and I thought the grapefruit juice taste was a little overpowering. Overall my husband thought the cake was pretty good but it tasted kind of off to me (however I am 10 weeks pregnant and everything smells and tastes weird to me these days). I made powdered sugar and grapefruit juice glaze for it and I am sure that contributed to the overpowering grapefruit taste (and just to be clear I love grapefruits). I will make cream cheese frosting for it tonight and hopefully that will help the taste. Oh and I also cut sugar down to 1 cup because so many recipes have way to much sugar for my taste but in this case it might have been too much of a reduction, I think I should have cut it down to 1 1/2 cups. And for me it took 40 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is my all time favorite cake recipe. Everyone who tries it LOVES it. My mom froze the birthday cake I made for her and sawed off a piece at a time so that she could have it all year long. When I make it I sub extra grapefruit juice for the milk and I usually add in about 20% more fluid (juice + milk) than the recipe calls for. I also add more zest than is called for and leave a little bit of pulp in the juice. And be sure that you use fresh grapefruits - it makes a HUGE difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Came out terrible, didn't rise at all, and very doughy. I am not sure what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I am so surprised that there isn't a photo with this recipe. This recipe is great and tastes wonderful. I made it for my daughter because she loves grapefruit. I added a grapefruit curd and grapefruit butter cream in between the layers topping it with fresh sturdy whipped cream. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used all grapefruit juice instead of milk, added lots of zest and a bit of lemon too. Top this cake with lemon cream cheese frosting and you won't want to share it with anyone else ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A beautiful cake, with rave reviews from all who tasted it. I made this cake yesterday, adding all juice instead of milk, rind from one grapefruit and the flesh chopped up into cake mixture, then cooking it in a bundt pan. I then poked holes in the top and glazed it with icing sugar and juice. It was such a success that now I'm going to attempt cupcakes the same way today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I thought it was a good basic cake recipe. I when the cake cooled I poured grapefruit and fresh OJ on top of the cake, I think a great consistency and a awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried the recipe 12/29/2009. I followed the suggestions that said to add extra grapefuit juice and icing. But I also added a bit of cinnamon sugar and nutmeg. I didn't have cake flour so I used regular flour and it made more than what my bundt pan would hold, so I made a small pan to go with it. I made it with my niece and nephews, they enjoyed making it with me and it turned out great. My husband even said it was tasty as well. A great recipe to add to the collection and get rid of grapefruit :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States