Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
These were exactly what I was looking for. Chewy and crunchy. I used a mixture of fresh and ground ginger and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made a Gluten Free version, using the same measurements cup for cup with Red Mills' All Purpose Gluten Free Flour. I added 1/4 tsp xantham gum. I also subbed two heaping Tbl of powdered ginger for the fresh and the cookies were amazing! So easy! I should've been making these for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've never really baked before and still these turned out great. I doubled the fresh ginger and added an extra teaspoon of dried ground ginger, and I'm very glad I did. Too much sugar though for my taste, and I even could've handled a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I found this to be a great cookie. Although I let the dough sit overnight in the refrigerator. Great flavor, I am very funny about the products I use, I fine unbleached flour makes a huge difference and I go to the Dutch Market (Amish) for eggs. Great recipe and will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnileu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really great! I didn't have butter on hand so I substituted oil, and I also added some cinnamon and all spice. Turned out really fragrant with a great texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect. On the second batch I baked them for 12 minutes to get them even softer. The only thing I noticed was how much the flavors mellowed after a day. To get that just out of the oven taste I just warmed them in a low oven for a few minutes. They also make a wonderful substitution for graham crackers for a cookie crust. I use just enough melted butter to keep the crumbs together. I have also used them in my peach crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious! Great, fresh ginger flavor. They are sort of small (they don't spread out while baking). Very moist and soft while the bottoms were sort of crispy. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Ehhh, these are very boring ginger cookies. The ones with cloves, nutmeg, and/or cinnamon (Ina Garten's ultimate ginger cookies, minus the crystallized ginger, if you're not a big ginger fan) are great! These are ok cookies in general, but not good ginger cookies. Texture and other aspects of the cookie are good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I doubled the recipe. The dough was marvelous -- to die for. Let me share my comments on the process before I tell you about the final product: * I did some control trays (ie per recipe) and a few experimentals (using ideas suggested by others in their reviews). One of the suggestions was to sprinkle water over the cookies before putting in the oven. This resulted in cookies stuck to the tin and thus broken cookies. I wouldn't do this if I were you. * I am not sure what the sugar added at the end (per some suggestions) is supposed to achieve other than adding calories and potential mess when eating. * I baked mine 10 min @ 150 Celsius on a fan oven (which is equiv to the temp suggested in the recipe). 15 minutes would have burnt my cookies to a crisp. * My exterior was beautifully cracked, but I am not sure I have achieved the right hardness on the shell of the cookie. * I am not sure the finished product (or at least 30 minutes out of the oven) is as good as the dough going in. Perhaps the cookies are better the next day??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Instead of rolling the cookies in sugar, I used an old crumbled marzipan dough I had. The almond from the marzipan added a nice flavor with the rest of the cookies.. Will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States