Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
They taste great. I added some cinnamon, cardamom, and grated orange peel to mine. I think 15 minutes was too long to cook - not as chewy as I hoped. Also, as mine cooked, they stayed in the shape of a ball, so I would probably make them a little larger and flatten then a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are GREAT! In fact too good, can't leave them alone! I used baker's sugar in the batter and turbinado sugar to roll them for texture/asthetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So disappointed. Not sure what happened, but they turned out completely flat and very crispy. Thinking they needed more flour, but very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very good cookies. Chewy and soft, perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I think I found my family's new favorite cookie! They are the right mix of slightly crunchy and soft. The fresh ginger gives it great flavor without being harsh. The recipe is perfect just as it is, sooo easy to put together, wonderful result, and they look good enough to give as gifts. Note that the dough is soft so the chilling is a necessary step, but I couldn't wait an hour so I put the dough in the freezer for a few minutes and it was fine. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NainInCandia
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Absolutely use the fresh ginger. These have made it to my "keeper" file. The fresh ginger and the molasses are a great combo. You won't be disappointed. Followed the recipe to a t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were amazing....really unique flavor!! If you just love ginger these are the cookie for you! I have to go back now and make several batches for Christmas. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe they were really really fantastic!! I had to use up some ground ginger and they were good so I cannot wait to make them again with some fresh ginger or some crystallized ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I adore these cookies, I was a little intimidated by the amount of ginger, but I went for it. I'm glad I followed the recipe because they were great. They are going in our Christmas cookie tins this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are delicious! Followed the exact recipe and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These cookies are very yummy, I personally like a lot of ginger so I doubled the amount of ginger and also added some cinammon, nutmeg and cloves. I never have molasses so I always use honey when I make these. A very good cookie and you almost don't have to feel guilty because ginger is so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States