Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Snow
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love these cookies! I have made this recipe about 20 times, so I thought I would share my tips. 1) I use dry ginger, but otherwise follow the recipe to the letter. 2) Don't add all the flour mixture at once. Sometimes it doesn't need it all and the dough will be too dry. 3) The dough, when completed, should be uniform in colour and texture. You should be able to pick it up with your hands and form it into a large ball without any cracks. It should also not stick to your fingers. 4) Chilling the dough is paramount. If the dough is not chilled enough, then the cookies will be too flat, won't form a crispy crust, and won't have the awesome cracks on the top. 5) I use a 1/8 cup measuring thingy to make all my dough balls exactly the same size (crazy?). They cook for exactly 15 minutes at 350 in my oven. The middle of each cookie will be raised, but will fall when it cools. 6)I prefer them a couple days old, but my G/F likes then best right from the oven. I want to add some more detail on the look of the cookie. Using a 1/8 cup ball, and cooking for 15 minutes, I get a cookie that is just over 1cm thick. Every cookie has deep cracks (deeper than the picture). I sprinkle sugar on them when they come out of the oven too. If you cookie is too flat and lacks cracks, your dough was either too wet, or you didn't chill the dough enough. If the cookie has a rounded, puffy top, and the cookie tastes dry, then the dough had too much flour added to it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These are definitely as advertised being between a molasses cookie and a gingersnap both of which I've made. I was wanting to make gingersnaps but had fresh ginger to use so I went with this recipe. I have to admit they aren't what I was looking for but that is my fault not that of the cookies. They taste almost a little bitter to me. I got 41 cookies out of the batch and baked them for 12 minutes which almost had them burnt. The cookies are edible but the jury is out on whether I'd make them again. Thanks for the recipe though and I'm glad to venture out of my comfort zone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by rockydog
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious and a great remedy for morning sickness. My partner loves them. I added 3+ tablespoons ginger and cooked them for an additional 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Probably the best ginger cookies I've ever had. These are my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These cookies tasted like standard ginger cookies, but the fresh ginger added a little extra kick. This will be my new go-to ginger cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Waaaay too sweet and not gingerly enough. I skipped the second cup of sugar (for the roll-over part) and still ended up with cookies that were extremely sweet. Could be the brand of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
VERY good!! I took them to a cookie swap & everyone agreed they were the best cookies there. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I added 1 Tbsp. of good quality powdered ginger, along with 1 cup of finely chopped (soft) crystalized ginger. The crystalized ginger "melts" into little gooey bites in the cookie. Have to add this for sure!! Over Christmas, I think I made this recipe around 6 times for friends & family requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These cookies are beyond delicious. I made a batch of two hundred for a community Christmas party, and everyone loved them! Thank you for posting up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
They taste great. I added some cinnamon, cardamom, and grated orange peel to mine. I think 15 minutes was too long to cook - not as chewy as I hoped. Also, as mine cooked, they stayed in the shape of a ball, so I would probably make them a little larger and flatten then a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are GREAT! In fact too good, can't leave them alone! I used baker's sugar in the batter and turbinado sugar to roll them for texture/asthetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States