Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Here is the thing about these, you will have to make a double batch! I made the first batch just like the recipe and was excited but wanted MORE GINGER! I was making them for the holiday party and wanted them to really stand out. I used the 2 TBL of fresh ginger but also added 1 tsp of dried ginger that comes from a bottle. Also, to add more pep, I added some freshly ground nutmeg to the outside sugar that they are rolled in before baking. There was no stopping them from there! Gone, gone, gone! Repeat: Just they way they are deserves 5 stars, but don't be stingy with the ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Amazing! Out of all the Christmas cookies we baked these were everyone's favorite! I wouldn't change anything with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are so yummy! I didn't have molasses, so I subbed high quality maple syrup and some brown sugar & it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were so wonderful. I made them for a Holiday Cookie Exchange last year and everyone loved them (those who liked ginger). The cookie stayed moist for many days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodsonje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These cookies are wonderful. I made them exactly as directed. They are crispy around the edges and soft and gooey in the middle. Every one who's tasted them, loves them. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Fantastic cookies. My wife doesn't even like ginger cookies. These were very gingery with a nice chewy texture and they looked pretty too :) I added two tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of allspice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Awesome! I added 1 tsp of cinnamon & nutmeg + 1/2 tsp cloves & allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE0019

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
i added extra ginger, didn't use fresh only had powdered & mine were fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VannieNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
not enough ginger flavor. make sure to buy a bigger piece of ginger and use good butter. some weird flavor, possibly from the Anchor butter I'd bought in bulk at the deli counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The fresh ginger wasn't as hard to grate as I had anticipated. Using fresh ginger vs ground ginger adds A LOT more flavor. I won't go back to using ground ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States