Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made these and yum! I used whole wheat flour but that fresh ginger makes ALL the difference so dont use the powdered! I love the Starbucks ginger cookies but I love these more.This will definitely be my GO TO ginger cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
In an attempt to make these a little healthier I replaced half the molasses, 1/8th Cup, with 1/8th Cup of Agave, and I didn't roll them in Sugar. They were superb. Next time I'm going to try replacing some of the Butter with Applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good, stuck to recipe completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very yummy. A good recipe to make with your kids - my toddler loved shaking the dough balls in the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Really delicious, nice chewy texture. Next time I could even add more ginger for a really zingy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was looking for a simple, chewy ginger cookie recipe...AND THIS IS IT! They came out in the perfect round cookie shape, perfect golden-brown colour, neat little cookie cracks, and tasted heavenly. The outside was crunchy, but the insides are wonderfully fluffy and soft. The spicy aftertaste was the cherry on top. I love that the ingredients are simple, but uses fresh grated ginger. As I was making the dough, I was initially worried that it was too wet (so I added a few tablespoons of flour), but then let the chilling do the work. Afterwards, it was completely fine. Keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit even without rolling them in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have molasses so I melted 1/4 cup brown sugar with some water in the microwave. Came out perfectly! I also coated the dough with course brown sugar which gave an extra crunch. My one disappointment is that the cookies were more cake-like than the picture indicated, but the flavour was good. I'll add some cinnamon and/or allspice to my next batch. The recipe made 40 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Excellent ginger cookies, just like my Mom used to make when I was small . . . lots of good memories!! I used half molasses and half honey and I love them this way! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have molasses so I substituted some brown sugar and a little maple syrup. On the sugar coating outside, I used a coarse grain sugar mixed with a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, and dried orange peel. It didn't take nearly a cup of sugar to coat the cookies. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States