Fresh Fruit with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This fruit salad is delicious. I ate it all myself in a few days. The dressing is great and doesn't need any additional sugar. I made use less banana next time because it has such a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Very disappointed considering how high this salad rates with others. Needs to be sweeter so definitely add some honey. Also, I like very hot things but the cayenne, although a small amount, needs to really be cut down or left out altogether. Your mouth shouldn't be burning after eating a fruit salad. The dressing was a pretty color and maybe just allow people to people put it on the fruit if they desire. Otherwise too many flavors going on here. I have a big bowl of unappealing fruit now that no one will touch. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
After searching among many fruit salad recipes, I decided to make this one for a picnic. Everyone thought it was delicious! It was hard to find a recipe with no added refined sugar or fat. The only change I made was to the dressing after putting it in the food processor. I strained it to remove the raspberry seeds. Excellent and will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This was delicious - and got rave reviews from my Dad, who is a true gourmet. If anything I would watch the amount of dressing, or better yet, add some more fruit! Went well with the saltier seasame chicken and fried rice I served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This is different, I thought it needed some additional sweetness. Next time I will add some sugar or 1/4 cup of maple syrup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I'm not a fruit salad fan at all so I didn't even taste this. But hubby loves fruit salad and he did like it, thus 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I thought this was absolutely excellent. Blackberries also work well if you don't have raspberries. Also, I do recommend adding about 1/2 cup sugar or so to the sauce mix. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
The dressing is great - very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
yummy! i used seasonal fruit consisting of white grapes, blueberries, mangoes, strawberries & of course bananas. i didn't have raspberries for the sauce, so w/o thinking it through, i used marionberries. i did not like having the seeds from these along w/ the poppy seeds. that's not a good combo in a fruit salad. if i make this again, i will definitely use raspberries. i also could taste the salt, which i didn't care for. i omitted the cayenne, b/c i was feeding other peoples toddlers, & didn't feel they would care for it. one last thing, as others suggested, my strawberries were a slight bit sour, so i sprinkled sugar on them after washing & chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I love how the dressing is made of fruit itself and how versatile it is, you can use whatever fruit is handy. But I don't like the cayenne pepper! I thought it sounded strange, but I used it anyways. It turns out I don't like it. I like spicy food, but I don't like spicy fruit! I might make this again, but without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States