Fresh Fruit Tart with Ginger Snap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I had to use a springform pan instead of a tart pan, and it worked fine. i dont think youneed that much preserves for the glaze. Very pretty! i ussed Murray gingersnaps and they crushed well, and taste good, too. Cheaper than the Annas suggested by one review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy! I brought this to a dinner party and everyone loved it, especially the gingery crust. Note if you use soy milk you have to decrease the amount of milk and thicken up the pudding with some cornstarch. Turns out you can't make pudding set up as well with soy milk unless these adjustments are made. The lactose intolerant folks at the party were appreciative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Was pretty good, however i did change it a bit. I added 2 or 3 Tbs of tang to the filling. I also used a Gram cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was fairly easy, beautiful, and delicious! I used about 1 1/3 cup of ginger snap crumbs and 2/3 cup of graham cracker crumbs - crushed in a food processor. I did not add sugar to the crust. I also used the lower fat cream cheese, reduced the sugar slightly in the cream cheese mixture, and key line juice instead of lemon juice. The fruits I used were kiwi, peaches, strawberries, and blueberries. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is wonderful. I used strawberry jam for the glaze, and some seasonal fruits (peach, nectarine, raspberry and blueberry). Later, I also made another batch of the filling and spread it between spice cookies for little sandwiches - awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this with a pre-made graham cracker crumb crust and it was a total hit! It didn't even turn out right... my cream cheese wasn't soft enough and I added the heavy cream too early, so there were little lumps. I also didn't know when to stop whipping, so I'm sure it could have been lighter and fluffier. I also used peach preserves instead of apricot. As I said, even with all the mistakes, everyone still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Perfect ending to our Father's Day celebration! I only have an 11" tart pan so just upped the ingredients a little on everything and it worked out with no problems. Also changed the fruit, using strawberries, kiwi, blackberries and raspberies. The gingersnap crust is wonderful and I am planning on using it when preparing cheesecakes. This will be a repeat at our home. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I started using this recipe about 4 years ago and my family won't let me stop making it :). One BIG tip: If you can avoid the Nabisco gingersnaps you'll be much happier. They're easy to find but almost impossible to crush. The brand I've found the most crush friendly (and tasty) are Anna's. I've found them at Longs/Walgreens/Cost Plus World Market and it looks like more places are starting to carry them. It'll take about a box and a half to make one crust (depending on how thick you want it). I vary the fruit topping by what's in season and I just heap it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I made individual tarts. Instead of crushing the biscuits to make a crust, I used whole biscuits, warmed in a slow oven for 5 - 10 minutes, and then pressed the biscuits into small round patty-cake tins. This made heaps of individual tarts that were gone in a flash at our get together. Fantastic for a crowd...great finger-food. Even my mum, who hates cream cheese loved them. Excellent Recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I made this to have as dessert with a chicken caesar salad and my whole family raved about how good it was. I would recommend using a food processor to make the gingersnap crumbs or use fresh ginger snaps as the ones I bought at the store were very hard and not easily crushed using a rolling pin. I'm making it again for a 4th of July dessert using patriotic colors on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llaura33

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States