Fresh Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was so good and easy. I made it ahead of time and popped it in the oven as we were sitting down to dinner. I loved it. I used pears, apples, and blackberries b/c that was what I had on hand. I tossed the pears and apples with sugar and cinnamon before putting them in the dish and I added 1/4 tsp. of almond abstract to the batter. I am making it again tomorrow night and can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
First time making cobbler, so glad i chose this recipe:) I made with plums and apples and it was absolutely gorgeous not to sweet, just right! Thanks for a great recipe, definately a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahmichael

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I've tried several cobbler recipes from different cookbooks & I like this one the best. I actually used a variety of fruit - peaches, blueberries & nectarines - and just made sure the quanity was the same as the recipe called for. The results were great.. add a little ice cream and my hubby was VERY happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is an easy, versatile recipe that I will make again. I used 1 cup of blueberries, 2 cups of nectarines and 2 cups of yellow plums, so I had 1 cup over the recommended amount, but I think this was OK. My only complaints are that it was slightly too tart and a bit underdone just underneath the top part of the batter. So, there are several things I would change next time: 1) Use a shallower pan (I think the 8x8 pan I used was too deep to allow it to cook properly all the way through); 2) Stick a toothpick as far down as possible to check doneness (I pulled mine out at 40 minutes but it still wasn't totally done underneath); and 3) If you have ANY fruit that is the slightest bit tart, add more sugar. In my case it was just my 1 cup of blueberries that was tart; I thought the very sweet nectarines and plums I had would have made up for the tart blueberries, but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
LOVED it! Like someone else, before I poured on the batter mixture, I sprinkled some ground cinnamon and pure maple sugar on the apples (could probably use a bit of pure maple syrup if you can't find maple sugar. I found mine in Door County, WI). I used 4 apples and 1 pear. A perfect combination of fruit and bread/cobbler! I look forward to making with other kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Daytona, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Wonderful! I didn't have any peaches so I omitted them and instead used 2 types of apples, and a 3 berry mix (raspberry, blueberry and marion berries). I made double the batter mix as suggested by other reviews. This was a big hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbuggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Mmmmm! I used all peaches. This was so easy to make and even easier to eat!! My husband and I ate almost the entire pan in one morning! I added about 2 tbs of brown sugar and a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I had to bake mine a lot longer than 30 minutes, though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We LOVED this recipe... even my super picky kids have been asking for it every day since I made it. I used a combo of peaches, pears, apples, and some blueberries. It was awesome served with ice cream. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe is great in its simplicity; the batter is sweet, spongey & cake-like - you should only just cover the fruit with a thin layer of batter or else it'll take a very long time to bake. This is what happened with me - I used a 9" round pan and ended up baking for an hour instead of 30 min because the batter was still runny/raw. It probably would've been fine if I'd used a 13"x9" dish instead, so everything was spread out. I used frozen peaches, plums, and strawberries - it turned out very sweet. Maybe a more contrasting array of fruits would be better for next time, to cut the sweetness. It's a nice recipe for something to do with an abundance of overripe fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
very good! even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States