Fresh From the Vine Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I make this a lot with penne or farfalle. I sometimes add toasted pine nuts...Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I used our bumper crop of smaller toms and cored the tops off, using the idea of sandwich bags to coat. They were in the oven for about 20 minutes until splitting then I mashed/cut them up, seeds, skin and all. I also added two T of prepared pesto because... We love pesto! (I doubled the recipe). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reine333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I took MinnesotaGirl's lead and roasted a medium zucchini with the tomatoes. I did have to increase the EVOO for the roasting by an additional two tablespoons. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. This pasta dish is WONDERFUL. I wanted a meatless meal for this week--I'll tell you, we didn't even miss the meat! I served this with buttered crusty italian bread and it was a filling and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Wow!!! I made this for my mother yesterday who loves everything authentic Italian. She has been to Italy many times and she said this was the way the Italians ate. Light with not too much sauce. I have to say, I will make this many times in the future. I felt like it was truly the delicious taste of a great chef. Wow!!!! I didn't change anything except I didn't have spicy pesto so I just added some cayenne pepper to the pesto. It was all good!!! SO easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great way to use up those grape and cherry tomatoes (had an entire shoe box full)! I find that using a potato masher works well to break up the tomatoes. I also roasted a zucchini and threw it in because it needed to cooked. Used fresh herbs from the garden and a healthy shake of red pepper flakes because we like a lot of spice - highly adaptable to suit your tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly aside from a bit more olive oil, and it was amazingly easy, yummy, complex, and satisfied the pickiest eater (my hubby). I might try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar, but hubby said it was perfect as is. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Made this tonight...it was a hit! Was able to use my sun gold tomatoes from my garden. Even my husband and youngest daughter, who normally don't eat tomatoes, loved it! Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I really liked this dish. It has a very sophisticated taste. The only change I made was the pasta as I used rotinis - I think that's what they're called - tubes as my grandson would say. This is a dish you'd pay $$$$ dollars for at the best of Italian restaurants. Would also be good with Portobello mushrooms or even shrimp added. I served the dish with crusty garlic Italian bread. Good stuff and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
We loved this, absolutely delicious! I used raviolis instead of tortellinis, I don't think it much matters, the secret is the preparation of the cherry tomatoes. My Parmesan had gone off but I had shredded 4-way Mexican cheese and substituted that, worked great. I didn't have spicy Pesto but had Costco brand Pesto, worked great. Next time I'm going to add prawns, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Loved it! So light and fresh, but full of flavor! My husband wants me to put some sort of protein in it next time to help it stick to your stomach. But it was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States