Fresh From the Vine Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great Recipe - Place tomatoes, oil, oregano, salt and pepper in a zip lock bag to coat tomatoes - much easier and not as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I took MinnesotaGirl's lead and roasted a medium zucchini with the tomatoes. I did have to increase the EVOO for the roasting by an additional two tablespoons. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. This pasta dish is WONDERFUL. I wanted a meatless meal for this week--I'll tell you, we didn't even miss the meat! I served this with buttered crusty italian bread and it was a filling and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great way to use up those grape and cherry tomatoes (had an entire shoe box full)! I find that using a potato masher works well to break up the tomatoes. I also roasted a zucchini and threw it in because it needed to cooked. Used fresh herbs from the garden and a healthy shake of red pepper flakes because we like a lot of spice - highly adaptable to suit your tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What a great recipe idea but I changed it so much I'm not sure which recipe I'm rating. I used the plastic bag trick suggested by another reviewer and added about a half of a sweet onion quartered. Then put it all on a roasting pan lined in parchment paper. They roasted for 20 minutes with a turn about halfway thru. I sautéed 3 garlic cloves in olive oil and added some fresh pesto spiced with red pepper. When the tomatoes were done, i just funneled the parchment paper and poured it all in the pan with the garlic. After boiling pasta, I added a good splash, maybe a half cup, of the pasta water to the mix. Easy, fast and a good way to use all the tomatoes. Next time I think I will roast a red pepper along with the tomatoes and onions and then throw it all in a food processer and make a smooth sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
What a great recipe! I did change/add the following and it was simply outstanding!!! I doubled it, and purchased the 19oz bag of frozen Tortellini from the freezer section as it was WAY more affordable. I added zucchini, a yellow pepper and red onion to the tomato in the oven and threw all veggies in a bag and added oil and spices that way (easier, and you use less oil). Save some of the pasta water to add to the entire mixture if it's a little too dry, and then top with a quick splash of quality EVOO, sea salt, crushed red pepper flakes and crumbled goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Wow!!! I made this for my mother yesterday who loves everything authentic Italian. She has been to Italy many times and she said this was the way the Italians ate. Light with not too much sauce. I have to say, I will make this many times in the future. I felt like it was truly the delicious taste of a great chef. Wow!!!! I didn't change anything except I didn't have spicy pesto so I just added some cayenne pepper to the pesto. It was all good!!! SO easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I cannot wait to make it.I love when people give recipe ideas to improve a recipe -this recicpe sounds easy and yummy. I will give my real recview after I make it! i need to wait for my tomatoes as they are ripening late this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Good way to use cherry tomatoes. Easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was so delicious and fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly aside from a bit more olive oil, and it was amazingly easy, yummy, complex, and satisfied the pickiest eater (my hubby). I might try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar, but hubby said it was perfect as is. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States