Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This cookie is SO good! It is moist and sweet. It's almost cake like. I was a little worried after step 3 before the figs were added. The batter looked too dry. I made one slight change. I added about 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract and some lemon zest to the sugar/shortening mix. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
LOVE these! I used 1/2 ww flour as I do with all my cookies. Perfect recipe for a heavenly cookie. Figs forever :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These are very good. Very soft and cake like. If I do make these again, I'll put in a small cake pan. I didn't have any cloves, so I had to omit. I did put in 1/2 tsp vanilla. Now I just have to hope my neighbor gives me more figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is an awesome recipe- the cookies are great!!!! Also an easy recipe; there is no prep work for the figs, like cooking or making preserves first. You just cut them up! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I was very pleased with this recipe. I have never cooked with figs before and now I am hooked. It's the best cookie I have ever had!! Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Just the best!!! I had a bnch of dried figs and reconstituted them the night before and forgot the cloves...:) you won't miss them!! In my Xmas cookie box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Found this to be excellent. Everyone loved them. I made a double batch and added nuts to just the last two sheets and they are so good ! I'm so glad to have a site to find recipes for foods that my cookbooks don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I am very happy to have found this recipe online. My neighbor gave me some fresh figs (she is the only one who eats them at her house). I made the cookies and brought some to her house. Her husband and son loved them and they don't like figs. So, I think they have a new use for figs now. She asked and I brought her the recipe. The first time I made them I had to add a little water, but the next time and the time after that, no addition necessary. I used butter instead of shortening also and added walnuts. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe came out perfectly as it was written. I baked the cookies for exactly 16 minutes, taking them out of the oven when they were lightly browned on the outside. I cooled them on the tray for a few minutes before removing them to cool further. They were delicious, soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside - just like I like them! This is a keeper recipe and a fun thing to do with fresh figs. I mean, after all, how many people know a fig recipe for cookies?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I second SQUEAKYCHU's rating to a T! These cookies were wonderful! Are you looking for another great recipe for fresh figs? Use Diane's "Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon" (on this site), but read my review for a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States