Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great fig recipe, although I changed a few things. I omitted the cloves. Also, Instead of using walnuts, I used pecans. I made the first batch into fairly large cookies. They were very cake like. The second batch, I made a lot smaller, they were perfect. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Made these twice now and both times they came out completely different. The only change is, I didn't put the cloves in. I'm thinking next time, I will add some oatmeal, as the dough still seems too gooey. They need something to thicken them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These are very good. Very soft and cake like. If I do make these again, I'll put in a small cake pan. I didn't have any cloves, so I had to omit. I did put in 1/2 tsp vanilla. Now I just have to hope my neighbor gives me more figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum! Good soft cookie. I substituted cinnamon for clove and used butter instead of shortening. It was almost like a chewy oatmeal cookie. Great use for fresh figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
LOVE these! I used 1/2 ww flour as I do with all my cookies. Perfect recipe for a heavenly cookie. Figs forever :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This cookie is SO good! It is moist and sweet. It's almost cake like. I was a little worried after step 3 before the figs were added. The batter looked too dry. I made one slight change. I added about 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract and some lemon zest to the sugar/shortening mix. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These cookies are yummy good. They are very much on the moist cakelike side for sure..I used 1/2 the cloves called for and replaced other half with cinnamon. My friend came over and i said have a cookie and she said,"Oh i don't do figs". I said just try it, she preceeded to eat several more and then a few more after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I have limited experience with figs (meaning I've eaten only fig bars from the store) so I was a little skeptical of this recipe. However, it was easy to prepare and made an attractive cookie with an interesting texture. I don't like cloves, so I used ground cinnamon instead. I didn't really taste the figs so much, but the walnuts gave them great crunch. My three-year-old and one-year-old both came back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
Good use for leftover fresh figs. The dough didn't really come together until the figs were added. Very moist, but honestly, figs aren't in the same category as chocolate chip cookies for me. For a fig cookie though, I say give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I recently gave figs a try and then was given a bag of them. I couldn't eat them fast enough before they started to rot so I found this recipe and it was perfect! Soo yummy and easy! So if your kids won't eat fresh figs (which is the best way) I highly recommend these cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States