Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These cookies were very good and did not bake up as moist/gooey as I feared. The recipe was extremely easy and a great use for fresh figs! I used Crisco for the shortening and was able to get some crunch after baking. Five stars if someone figures out how to add chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
These cookies are very good. (They remind me of some mincemeat cookies that I love.) I made some without nuts (my daughter hates nuts) and some with, very coarsely chopped. They are moist, a little chewy (which I love), and really tasty. I was looking for something to do with my fig crop without making preserves today, and I wasn't disappointed! Thanks, Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Made these twice now and both times they came out completely different. The only change is, I didn't put the cloves in. I'm thinking next time, I will add some oatmeal, as the dough still seems too gooey. They need something to thicken them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Batter was very dry. I altered it by adding another egg and a 1/2 cup of buttermilk. Cookies then came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I was very pleased with this recipe. I have never cooked with figs before and now I am hooked. It's the best cookie I have ever had!! Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is an awesome recipe- the cookies are great!!!! Also an easy recipe; there is no prep work for the figs, like cooking or making preserves first. You just cut them up! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I have limited experience with figs (meaning I've eaten only fig bars from the store) so I was a little skeptical of this recipe. However, it was easy to prepare and made an attractive cookie with an interesting texture. I don't like cloves, so I used ground cinnamon instead. I didn't really taste the figs so much, but the walnuts gave them great crunch. My three-year-old and one-year-old both came back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
Good use for leftover fresh figs. The dough didn't really come together until the figs were added. Very moist, but honestly, figs aren't in the same category as chocolate chip cookies for me. For a fig cookie though, I say give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-88 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States