Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Wow, what a great way to use up fresh figs. Our tree is so prolific and these cookies are always a treat. Even people who don't like figs taste a fresh fruit flavor that is very mild and just love them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Good use for those figs, and the recipe can be converted to be more healthy. My best advice is to carefully measure the cloves, can be quite overpowering if too much. Allspice might be a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so perhaps I shouldn't have rated. My first change subsituted a mixture of brown and white sugar for white sugar. I chopped the figs up in my cuisinart with almonds instead of walnuts. I also added a bit of bourbon to the dough (3 tbsp?). I tried the cookie as a drop and as cake/sliced bars in the pan. The bars seemed to work better for this gooey dough. When they came out of the oven, a brown sugar and bourbon glaze topped them off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
The cookies were quite soft and cakelike but very delicious. My children loved them even though they had a strange coloring ( a green tint, maybe my figs were not quite ripe enough )The clove taste was wonderful and also the texture of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I am very happy to have found this recipe online. My neighbor gave me some fresh figs (she is the only one who eats them at her house). I made the cookies and brought some to her house. Her husband and son loved them and they don't like figs. So, I think they have a new use for figs now. She asked and I brought her the recipe. The first time I made them I had to add a little water, but the next time and the time after that, no addition necessary. I used butter instead of shortening also and added walnuts. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
The recipe worked well...made a sweet little cookie. The taste was not so good. But that was just my opinion. I am sure others will like it. Still on a mission to find that yummy fig recipe to use my yearly fig harvest in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Found this to be excellent. Everyone loved them. I made a double batch and added nuts to just the last two sheets and they are so good ! I'm so glad to have a site to find recipes for foods that my cookbooks don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Pretty good little cookies - better than I expected them to be. (I am still forming an opinion regarding figs in general.) I did not have any cloves so substituted a little cinnamon and ground ginger. The dough did not really take shape until the figs were added and let out their moisture. Well definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Just the best!!! I had a bnch of dried figs and reconstituted them the night before and forgot the cloves...:) you won't miss them!! In my Xmas cookie box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These cookies were very good and did not bake up as moist/gooey as I feared. The recipe was extremely easy and a great use for fresh figs! I used Crisco for the shortening and was able to get some crunch after baking. Five stars if someone figures out how to add chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States