Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great fig recipe, although I changed a few things. I omitted the cloves. Also, Instead of using walnuts, I used pecans. I made the first batch into fairly large cookies. They were very cake like. The second batch, I made a lot smaller, they were perfect. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I found this recipe for my boyfriend who is diabetic and has wheat allergies. He modified the recipe so he could eat them and they are great! I wasn't a fan of the "fig newton" or figs at all until I tried these! My daughter and I love these even though we're eating the "gluten free" kind!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Super moist, but rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
OK. not much flavor. I had just under a cup of figs. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This cookie is SO good! It is moist and sweet. It's almost cake like. I was a little worried after step 3 before the figs were added. The batter looked too dry. I made one slight change. I added about 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract and some lemon zest to the sugar/shortening mix. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
LOVE these! I used 1/2 ww flour as I do with all my cookies. Perfect recipe for a heavenly cookie. Figs forever :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These are very good. Very soft and cake like. If I do make these again, I'll put in a small cake pan. I didn't have any cloves, so I had to omit. I did put in 1/2 tsp vanilla. Now I just have to hope my neighbor gives me more figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I second SQUEAKYCHU's rating to a T! These cookies were wonderful! Are you looking for another great recipe for fresh figs? Use Diane's "Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon" (on this site), but read my review for a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe came out perfectly as it was written. I baked the cookies for exactly 16 minutes, taking them out of the oven when they were lightly browned on the outside. I cooled them on the tray for a few minutes before removing them to cool further. They were delicious, soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside - just like I like them! This is a keeper recipe and a fun thing to do with fresh figs. I mean, after all, how many people know a fig recipe for cookies?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. I subbed splenda for sugar, and let my kids eat all they wanted. They were increibly soft too, in a yummy kind of way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States