Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very disappointing. The batter was WAY too dry. I had to add a bit of liquid (my mother suggested milk) so that I could drop spoonfuls of the batter onto the cookie sheet. The finished cookies are kind of floppy and also rather bland, as others have mentioned. I definitely won't be making these again to use up some of the seemingly endless supply of figs our tree is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Lo
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a good recipe. I changed it a little bit, because I was pressed for time - I made a bar cookie. If I make this again (if I ever have fresh figs again, I will), I would cut down the baking powder just a little bit to make a denser cookie. They turned out a little cakey for my tastes, but the flavour is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I recently gave figs a try and then was given a bag of them. I couldn't eat them fast enough before they started to rot so I found this recipe and it was perfect! Soo yummy and easy! So if your kids won't eat fresh figs (which is the best way) I highly recommend these cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum! Good soft cookie. I substituted cinnamon for clove and used butter instead of shortening. It was almost like a chewy oatmeal cookie. Great use for fresh figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made these and they turned out yummy, I'll definitely make them again, but they weren't at all puffy and cake-like as the pictures and other reviews make them out to be. I didn't have cloves so I used nutmeg and vanilla, and I baked them for 12 minutes as the 15 minute batch came out overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very Yummmmmmmmmm!! Moist!! I added more than on cup of fresh figs!! I made it as cookies and a cakes. My family loved it. However, i couldnt eat it more am not that fond of figs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salha.K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
These cookies were awesome!!! And soooo easy to make... A little taste of heaven. They're not to sweet and they really satisfy that afternoon snack attack. I made these cookies for these girls at work who all said they hated figs... Needless to say I've had numerous requests to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Yummy cookies. This is a great batter you can use for lots of cookies. I would add more nuts next time. And I used the green fig, I would use the brown fig next time I think . The fig didn't impart much flavor just texture. I also subbed cardamom for the clove b/c that is what I had. I will use this batter recipe again for other things! YUM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These cookies are yummy good. They are very much on the moist cakelike side for sure..I used 1/2 the cloves called for and replaced other half with cinnamon. My friend came over and i said have a cookie and she said,"Oh i don't do figs". I said just try it, she preceeded to eat several more and then a few more after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great fig recipe, although I changed a few things. I omitted the cloves. Also, Instead of using walnuts, I used pecans. I made the first batch into fairly large cookies. They were very cake like. The second batch, I made a lot smaller, they were perfect. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States