Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
change 1/4 cinnamon & 1/4 cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made these exactly as directed, but they were thin and flat not cake like. The flavor was OK, lots of cloves, probably won't bother making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Just made this recipe after co-worker bestowed a batch of fresh figs upon my spouse. TASTY Cookie and SO Easy! Made this recipe exactly as given. Pleasant surprise when I got 51 2-3 inch drop cookies out of it. 17 ripe figs equaled 1 cup chopped. Placing covered batter into fridge between baking batches helps firm up the dough. Batches baked in much less time than noted; got nicely browned cookies in 10-11 mins in 350 degree oven. I'll be making this again soon. THANKS Pat for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Not sure what I did differently, but mine were not cakey at all. In fact, they were very thin yet moist and chewy. I did add a half cup of choco chips and a half cup of raisins and subbed cinnamon for the cloves. Other than that all the ingredients were the same. They taste really great and my friend's uber-picky child loved them. Great way to sneak some nutritional value into a cookie via the figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
SO GOOD! The spices are incredible tasting! The dough by itself was so good I couldn't stop eating it. Once I added the figs to the dough it was a little sticky and difficult to deal with, but the cookies turned out delicious and were very well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Good, but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Quite Yummy These do come out of the oven nice and crispy, but turn very cakelike after they've cooled off. They also have to be stored separated with wax paper or something, otherwise they stick together in one big clump. I stored them in the refrigerator and popped them into the toaster oven whenever I wanted some. They crisped right up just like fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Good cookies!~ My kids loved them with chocolate chips in them! We added 1 1/2 cups of CC. We used fresh figs from my mom's fig tree, peeled and smashed. I also put in 1 Tb of Cinnamon. I think 1 tp of Cinnamon would have been better. We also cut the clove to 1/4 tp. This recipe made about 2-3 dozen nice size cookies. Preheating the oven is very important and will affect the outcome of the thickness of these cookies. We heated our oven at 350 and cooked for 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishtwinsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Good, tasty recipe. I used dried figs ( I don't think it's possible to get fresh ones where I live!) and since they were dried, I had to add a little liquid to get the right consistency to form cookie balls. I like cookies shaped like balls and then watching them flatten out in the pan while they're baking. Though these didn't flatten out so much, perhaps because I used margarine instead of shortening(that's all I had on hand) and I didn't use a whole lot of that. Also, I halved the sugar and used brown instead of white, like I always do. I didn't find these cookies to be bland at all, like what other users said. They were good! :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These were okay....little dry like everyone said and lacking in flavour. I added some chocolate chips and my 3 year old loved them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States