Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lordst2
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Hands down my favorite fig recipe involves about 6-8 figs. Pick one up and put it in your mouth. Repeat this process until done (aprox 2 minutes). That said, late summer my trees produce more than can be eaten and some people don’t like the texture of the good old inverted flowers so this recipe is a nice substitute. I have to admit that I did make a couple modifications after reading other reviews so my ranking is based on cookies made with the following changes. I replaced half the shortening with butter, added about a tablespoon of vanilla, substituted pecans instead of walnuts, and went with cinnamon instead of clove. The result was cakey (like eating a muffin top), a little buttery, and full of that delicate fig flavor. I thought the light cakey result was perfect with the fig flavor, but as other reviewers point out the key is to make them small and trust that the gooey batter will result in a nice cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used 2 cups pureed figs, butter instead of shortening, pecans instead of walnuts, reduced the cloves to 1/4 tsp, & added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. These turned out like zuccini bread cookies if had to name them. Everyone in my family liked them. They were really moist & spread way out on the cookie sheet so drop them small. I also had added 1/2 cup chocolate chips but it didnt need them in the recipe. I was not blown away by these personally they were just ok but a good way to use the fresh figs. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I didn't have cloves so I used 1/2 tsp Almond extract. These cookies are very good. Based on other reviews, I made small spoon dropped cookies and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious and moist. I used butter instead of shortening and the cookies still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We LOVE these cookies. My husband does not like cookies that are too sweet or iced. These are perfect for him. He was eating them as fast as I took them out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Instead of cookies i baked a fig cake with this recipe using dried Turkish figs and maple syrup in place of the sugar. i also chose not to use walnuts. Boy oh boy did it come out great!! I'm so going to make this again in the future and am going to include it among my most favorites from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdapaul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These didn't come out quite right for me. they were yummy, but not very sweet. I think next time I will use brown suger instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I baked these as both cookies and bars/cake. Bake them as bars! As cookies, mine weren't bad - they spread out easily and are not as soft as the bars. I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp cloves - it was a good compromise and resulted in a tasty end result. I had half of the dough as cookies (~12 cookies) and put the other half in a 9 x 9 square pan for the bars. My figs were very ripe, and you could taste their sweetness. Overall, the cookies were quite sweet for a spice cookie. **UPDATE** Cookies are better several hours later - they soften up and taste better than the bars. So pick bars if you plan to eat them quickly, cookies if you plan for them to sit out for awhile. Best bet: do a mix, as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I just made these and they are very good. I made them like the recipe except used pecans. Having never used fresh figs before, this is a yummy and easy way to use them up as they spoil quickly. I would mention that the dough is rather crumbly until you add the figs. Keep folding them and the nuts in until all the dough is moist. And, cook them till they are golden brown on top. One last thing, my figs were the green variety. I think I used more than 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
change 1/4 cinnamon & 1/4 cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States